Back to: News
January 7, 2013
Follow News

Sandoval appoints members to sage grouse council

(AP) - Gov. Brian Sandoval has named 12 Nevadans to a council that will oversee efforts to avoid new federal protections for sage grouse.

The bird's listing under the Endangered Species Act could lead to restrictions on development and other activities on public land.

Named as voting members of the Sagebrush Ecosystem Council were Doug Busselman and Tina Nappe, both of Washoe County; Starla Lacey of Clark County; J.J. Goicoechea of Eureka County; Allen Biaggi and Jeremy Drew, both of Douglas County; Steven Boies and Kent McAdoo, both of Elko County; and Gerry Emm of Carson City.

They represent a wide variety of interests, including ranching, mining, energy, conservation and sportsmen.

Non-voting members are the state heads of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Bureau of Land Management and Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest.

Stories you may be interested in

The Nevada Appeal Updated Jan 7, 2013 12:49AM Published Jan 7, 2013 12:49AM Copyright 2013 The Nevada Appeal. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.