Nevada Appeal Staff Report

Back to: News
September 15, 2013
Follow News

WNC to host new driver-ed classes

Sessions of new driver education for teens 15 years and older will be offered through Western Nevada College this fall and during the winter break, meeting for four days from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The cost is $95.

Two sessions will be offered at WNC Carson City campus — Saturdays, Sept. 21-Oct. 12 and Oct. 19-Nov. 23. The class will not meet Oct. 26 and Nov. 9.

One session will be offered at Silver State Charter High School, 788 Fairview Drive, over the winter break. The class will meet Monday, Dec. 30, and Thursday-Saturday, Jan. 2-4. An additional session will be offered in Douglas County at the East Fork Fire Station, 1450 Stephanie Lane, Minden, on Saturdays, Sept. 28-Oct. 19.

State law requires new drivers younger than 18 to take a 30-hour new-driver-education course if one is offered within 30 miles of their home.

The course also covers how to handle distractions and peer pressure, and how to prevent falling asleep at the wheel and driving under the influence, plus tips on driving around large trucks and motorcycles, avoiding objects in the road, maneuvering safely through roundabouts and driving in inclement weather.

Register at wnc.edu/drivereducation or call 775-445-4458 for additional information.


Explore Related Articles

Trending in: News

The Nevada Appeal Updated Sep 15, 2013 01:06PM Published Sep 15, 2013 12:43AM Copyright 2013 The Nevada Appeal. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.