Campaign signs’ time is running out | NevadaAppeal.com

Campaign signs’ time is running out

by F.T. Norton
Nevada Appeal Staff Writer

BRAD HORN/Nevada Appeal

Come the morning after a general election, one would be hard-pressed to find a campaign sign belonging to Judge William Rogers. His signs are down by midnight election night, said the second-term Lyon County justice of the peace, who won the seat of district court judge for Churchill and Lyon counties Tuesday.

Rogers said his efficiency is born out of the need to keep busy while waiting on election night results.

But superstition ” like wearing an old jersey in a playoff game ” and a pet peeve about campaign signs after an election, keeps him on the straight and narrow when it comes to electioneering.

Nevada statute prevents the placement of campaign signs within the right-of-way of state highways.

And signs must not be placed next to highways more than 60 days before a primary election and must be removed 30 days after the election. A successful candidate in the primary election may display his or her campaign signs through the following general election, removing them 30 days later.

Carson City Municipal Code dictates that all political signs, no matter if they are on private property, must be removed within 14 days from the election. So by Nov. 19, there should not be any campaign signs to be seen. At least not sticking in front yard lawns or on bushes, said Carson City Code Enforcement Officer Kevin McCoy.

Recommended Stories For You

“You put the sign inside your house and have it sticking by your window, that’s fine. But campaign signs fall under temporary signs (laws), and the code is specific that all political signs must be removed within 14 days,” said McCoy.

A violation of the municipal ordinance is a misdemeanor and the property owner or candidate is cited.

McCoy said his office isn’t militant about prosecuting offenders.

“Signs can be missed and that’s usually what happens if we find a lingering sign somewhere. We’ll call the candidate and give them 24 hours to take it down,” he said.

A successful prosecution could result in fines up to $1,000 per violation and six months in jail.

– Contact reporter F.T. Norton at ftnorton@nevadaappeal.com or 881-1213.

Go back to article