WNC offers driving classes
January 11, 2014
New Driver Education courses for teens age 15 and older will be offered by Western Nevada College throughout the winter and spring.
Each session includes four days of instruction from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Three spring courses will meet at WNC's Carson City campus. The first course will be held on Saturdays from Feb. 1 through March 1, except Feb. 16. Another course will be held on Saturdays from March 15 through April 5, and the final course will coincide with Carson High School's spring break April 14-17.
Two classes will be offered in Douglas County at the Eastfork Fire Station in Genoa, one on Saturdays from March 1-22, and another to coincide with Douglas High School's spring break April 21-24.
Nevada state law requires new drivers under age 18 to take a 30-hour new driver education course if one is offered within 30-miles of their home. The courses cover safe driving techniques through lectures, class discussion, guest speakers, and films that cover Nevada driving regulations, basic vehicle control, and driving maneuvers in various situations and environments.
The classes cost $100. To register for the non-credit class, go to http://www.wnc.edu/drivereducation/.
For more information, call 775-445-4458.
Trending In: Local
- Flooding in Northern Nevada in spring called a certainty
- Man’s enchantment of exotic wolf breeds often leaves animals at Tahoe overwhelmed, looking to re-home
- Snowboarder dead at Northstar
- Douglas County Sheriff’s Office seeks information into battery thefts
- Lake Tahoe water managers may have to ‘spill’ water