Yerington gearing up for Night in the Country |

Yerington gearing up for Night in the Country

Nevada Appeal staff report

Yerington’s annual three-day celebration of country music is getting an extra dose of Western swagger.

The festival runs July 27-29 and offers headliners Thomas Rhett and Justin Moore supported by Drake White and The Big Fire, Craig Morgan, Michael Ray and Tucker Beathard as well as others.

“This year we’ve got arguably the biggest headliners to date,” said Justin Aguilar, festival director. “The buzz surrounding this year’s festival is exciting, there are a couple camp zones that are only a few sites away from selling out and tickets are selling fast. We’ve got a great weekend planned and are looking forward to a great show from some well-known artists and some up-and-comers.”

The festival also will feature LANCO, The Scotty Mac Band, The Whiskey Heroes and DJ Colt Ainsworth.

Nashville’s LANCO, made up of Brandon Lancaster (lead vocal), Chandler Baldwin (bass), Jared Hampton (keyboard, banjo), Tripp Howell (drums) and Eric Steedly (lead guitar), began its journey as Lancaster & Company in 2012. The group carries a modern approach to country music and a reputation for energetic performances.

Influenced by Garth Brooks and Fleetwood Mac, The Scotty Mac Band is enjoying a year of performing at major country music festivals. It opened for acts such as Chris Young, Easton Corbin, Jake Owen, Darius Rucker, Luke Bryan, Brett Eldredge, Old Dominion and Rascal Flatts.

The Whiskey Heroes, a project of Aaron Henry and Trent Wood, began in 2014 with rock roots surrounded by a country locale. Its first single, “Night in the Country,” was mixed by Grammy winner Mark Needham. Since then, the band has added Matt Bailey on rhythm guitar, Dillon Secklin on drums, and Max Landis on bass and backup vocals.

Amplified Entertainment’s newest addition, DJ Colt Ainsworth, is based in Reno. The artist’s goal is to grow his following by mixing genres to appeal to many demographics.

Michael Ray recently dropped his new single, “Get To You,” from his upcoming sophomore album. The Atlantic Records/Warner Music Nashville recording artist wrapped up his headlining tour, “Think A Little Less,” earlier this year and performed the tour’s namesake on “The Today Show” on NBC. Ray recently notched his second No. 1 single with “Think a Little Less,” which boasts 780 million airplay audience impressions and over 21 million streams. When his debut single “Kiss You in the Morning,” reached No. 1, he became the only new country male artist to have a No. 1 single in 2015, and his self-titled debut album entered the Billboard Country Album Chart Top 5.

In its 16th year, the event is Nevada’s longest running country music festival. It takes place at the Lyon County Fairgrounds.

Campsites are available starting at $225. General admission tickets can be purchased for $115 or one day for $75. Limited tickets remain for Superfan for $200 and VIP for $425 (two-day) or $225 (one-day).

For information and to purchase tickets and campsites, go to

Night in the Country 2017 lineup:

July 27

Full Moon Saloon Stage

8-9:15 p.m. — The Whiskey Heroes

9:45-10:45 p.m. — Walker Hayes

11:15 p.m.-12:30 a.m. — Steve Moakler

12:45-2 a.m. — DJ Colt Ainsworth

July 28

Main Stage

3:30-4:15 p.m. — Toree McGee

4:45-5:45 p.m. — The Railers

6:15-7:15 p.m. — Drake White and The Big Fire

7:45-9 p.m. — Craig Morgan

9:30-11 p.m. — Justin Moore

CLUB 149 Stage

4:15-4:45 p.m. — Clear Blue 22

5:45-6:15 p.m. — Toree McGee

7:15-7:45 p.m. — Brandon Ray

9-9:30 p.m. — Toree McGee

Full Moon Saloon Stage

11 p.m.-12 a.m. — Toree McGee

12:15-1:15 a.m. — Brandon Ray

1:30-2:30 a.m. — DJ Colt Ainsworth

July 29

Main Stage

3:30-4:15 p.m. — Chad Bramlet

4:45-5:45 p.m. — Ryan Griffin

6:15-7:15 p.m. — Tucker Beathard

7:45-9 p.m. — Michael Ray

9:30-11 p.m. — Thomas Rhett

CLUB 149 Stage

4:15-4:45 p.m. — Scotty Mac

5:45-6:15 p.m. — Chad Bramlet

9-9:30 p.m. — Chad Bramlet

Full Moon Saloon Stage

11 p.m.-12 a.m. — Scotty Mac

12:15-1:15 a.m. — LANCO

1:30-2:30 a.m. — DJ Colt Ainsworth