Renegades right on track

The visiting series of the Renegade 360 Sprints and Northern California Modified Association provided a great added show for race fans bearing the cold Saturday evening at Silver State Raceway, but the points race in the maverick division definitely stole the show.

Going into Saturday's final points race, which was a double-pointer for all divisions, Dave Daniel (54) held a two-point lead over Guy Perry (7). Daniel made a small increase by making the trophy dash while Perry missed. The dash was won by Gary Chandler (96) over Rafael Gomez (3x), Daniel and Randy Bauer (25).

Perry gained one point in the second heat race by placing third and Daniel fourth. The race was won by Gomez, while Bauer finished second. Mike Fuller (44) won the first heat over Bill Gould (37) in second and Thom Eldridge (68) third.

The 25-lap main event started well with Perry beginning from the fifth position and Daniel the seventh, directly behind him.

"I was being pretty cautious," Daniel said. "I knew I had a few more points on him being in the trophy dash, so I was just taking it easy."

On lap 24, in turns 1-2, Perry moved up into Daniel's line, pushing him hard to the outside. Daniel was able to hold his line and not spin out. The two cars banged all the way down the back stretch into turn three, where Daniel hit the rear of Perry's car in retaliation for the previous hit on him. Perry tried one more time to hit Daniel on the front stretch, but only spun himself out.

The main event was won by Gomez, who started from the rear of the field (again), with Fuller taking second and Daniel third. Rounding out the field were Bauer, Mike McMordie (77), Chandler, Perry, Eldridge and Bill Gould (37).

For his aggressive actions, Perry was relegated to the rear of the field. Daniel won the championship by 18 points over Perry.

In the Legends division, John Burritt went 3-for-3, pulling a hat trick and the championship out of that hat as he recorded his 11th win of the season. He won the trophy dash over C.J. Bawden (50), Shane Kline (32) and Henry Hodges (89), and the heat race of Brad Johnson (88) in second and Kline in third. Bawden came in second in the main event with Kline third. Rounding out the field were Hodges, Johnson, Mike Wright (56) and George Weeks (60).

Scott Bohemier (8) is the new track champion in the sportsman division, racing his last three weeks with a broken hand. Brian Colodny (14) won the division trophy dash over Kim Lewis (89), Dean Heller (27) and Mike Millard (22).

Mike Glisson (7) won the second heat race over Dave Lester (34) in second and Les Kipler (54) in third. Roseville, Calif. driver Jerry Dubach (42) won the second heat race with Stuart Moon (00) finishing second and Chet Danburg (3x) third.

Glisson is now 2-for-2 in his new ride, winning the 30-lap main event handily over the second-place car of Lester, and third position of Danburg. Rounding out the field were Chris Baker (11), Dubach, Moon, Heller, Colodny, Bohemier, Kipler, Lewis, Virgil Miller (21), Steve Planka (11x) and Millard.

In the Shootout series, it was Mark Amador (77x) from Modesto, Calif., winning the trophy dash over Don Hicks (79), Scott Holloway (41) and Joe Kuderca (23). For many of the drivers, it was their first time on asphalt. Some adapted quickly, others did not.

The first heat was won by Ed Amador (76) over Steve Amador (7) and Del Quinn (6). Mark Amador won the second heat over Hicks and Bobby Bankson (43). In the main event, Hicks showed why he is the Renegade's season champion, winning the 25-lap main with Mark Amador close behind in second and Quinn in third. Quinn, from Concord, Calif., is 66-years-old and the 1999 NCMA division champion.

Rounding out the field were Bankson, Ed Amador, Steve Amador, Holloway, Bill Zerevich (x5), Ken Rines (15), Jim Jensen (9) and Burt Siverling (77). The series is looking forward to making a return engagement next season at SSR. At intermission, the drivers threw UNOCAL 76 antenna balls and lots of candy into the crowd, much to everyone's delight. Actually, it looked like the drivers may have enjoyed it more.

Mike Firebaugh (8) is the first-ever champ in the Crazy-8 class for 1999. Firebaugh also won Saturday night's race, with Bob Parkerson (6) finishing second and Corey Firebaugh (86) taking third. Rounding out the field were Doug Key (2), Lance Baxter (9), Russ Allred (5), Jon Montes (13) and Don Wilkens (45).

Silver State Raceway will end its 1999 season with the Nevada Days 100, a 100-lap open competition race for the late model sportsman, this Saturday. Racing begins at 7 p.m.

For the season's final points standings or track information, go to, or call 885-2079.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment