Teacher of the year to be named Wednesday

MINDEN - Douglas County's Teacher of the Year will be announced at the Douglas County Education Foundation's annual teacher appreciation luncheon May 17 at the Ridge at Tahoe.

The Teacher of the Year is selected from finalists named at each of the county's 12 schools. The nominees, who are chosen by their peers, also will be recognized at next week's luncheon.

Founded in 1984, the nonprofit Douglas County Education Foundation funds education projects and scholarships. The group's largest fund-raiser is its annual fall Festival of Food and Fun, which is scheduled Oct. 1 at South Shore. The foundation's 20-member board of trustees includes representatives from both the Carson Valley and Lake Tahoe.

For information about the luncheon, contact Suzanne Newell at 782-4014.

This year's nominees include:

Rowena Shaw, Zephyr Cove Elementary School; Cecilia Vaughn, Kingsbury Middle School, mathematics, grades 7-8; Alfred Haas, Whittell High School, science, grades 9-12; Janell Sheets, Minden Elementary, multi-age group, 1-3; Brenda Downs, Scarselli Elementary, multi-age group, 2-3; Don Frensdorff, Pau-Wa-Lu Middle School, physical education, grades 7-9; Debbie Davis, Pinon Hills Elementary, 5-6 multi-age group;

And Mary Whalen, Jacks Valley Elementary, English as a second language; Robbi Jacobsen, Gardnerville Elementary, 5th grade; Cathy Hackler, C.C. Meneley Elementary, 5th grade; Michael Schneider, Douglas High School, English; Jennifer Norman, Carson Valley Middle School, computer technology.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment