Scouts honor volunteers

The Pinenut District of the Nevada Area Council of the Boy Scouts of American hosted its volunteer Scouter Recognition Dinner at the Carson Stake Center.

Bob Stewart, past president of the Nevada Area Council, was master of ceremonies.

Shepley Curtis of Coventry Cross Episcopal Church in Gardnerville gave the benediction and William Brewer of the Carson Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Stake gave the invocation.

Kent Dowling, field director, presented the District's 2002 Key-3, Steven Watson, immediate past district chairman, Doyle Hanks, district chairman, Gail Roberts, district commissioner, and Ray Ritch, district executive, with the Quality District statuette.

Jeff Hunt, scout executive NAC, congratulated the Scouters of The Pinenut on the Quality Units, and briefed the upcoming upgrades in the Council camps.

Doyle Hanks, district chairman, presented Certificates of Appreciation to Shep Curtis, Order of the Arrow Advisor; Ken Kruse, Training Chairman; Dahleen Kendler, Cub Day Camp Director; Steve Watson, Scout Government Day coordinator; Rand McCain, Popcorn 'Kernel;' Barbara Ford, Awards; and Debra and Phil Snyder, Chefs.

Jim Wilson presented Veteran Awards to: Jerry Virgo, 5 years; Mike Burdett, 10 years; Tom Dudley, 10 years; and Barbara Ford, 20 years.

Michael Rowe of Gardnerville presented the district's Eagle Scouts.

Lowell Voelker of Carson Valley was honored by being named Cub Rookie of the Year.

Shane Jenkins of Minden was named Cub Leader of the Year.

Scott McKee of Minden was selected as Den Leader of the Year.

Cub Master of the Year honors went to Guy Perry of Carson City.

Randy McCain of Carson City was named Scout Leader Rookie of the Year.

Scout Leader of the Year award was presented to Dave Lambin of Gardnerville.

Bill Knight of Carson City was honored by being named Scoutmaster of the Year.

Elsie Burgess was presented Commissioner Rookie award.

Katherine Thielan of Carson Valley was honored as Commissioner of the Year.

The Carson City Kiwanis, Dan Nevin president, was honored as the Chartered Partner of the Year.

The Pinenut Spirit award went to Tom Dallaire of Minden.

Golden Pinenuts were bestowed on Curt Shufelt of Carson City, Dan Thielan of Minden, and Roger Van Alyne of Gardnerville.

The District Award of Merit was presented to Mike Burdett of Carson City, Phillip Snyder of Minden, and William Brewer of Carson City.

Membership in The Pinenut Hall of Fame honored Fred Atkinson of Dayton and Alvin McDowell of Carson City.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment