Local wrestlers strong in zone qualifier

Staff Reports

Ten wrestlers for Carson Middle School won titles at the zone qualifying meet on Saturday.

The top four wrestlers qualified for next weekend's zone championships at Yerington in the meet held at Carson Middle School. For the seventh grade, Nick Schlager (75 pounds), Bett Valley (85), Juan Arellano (95), Tommy Preston (105), Blake Davidson (125) and Jeff Butler (135) all won titles for Carson.

For the eighth grade, Todd Banko (90), Curtis Kiernan (135), Garrett Truesdale (140) and Fred Mertz (heavyweight) all won titles. Mertz beat teammate Frank Urbani in the finals for the crown.

Other Carson wrestlers who qualified were: 100 - Chad Plattsmier, second, Gus Banuelos, fourth; 105 - Matt Robinson, second, Doug Lipka, third; 110 - Kyle Machado, second, Markus Adams, fourth; 115 - Matt Scott, second, Julian Block, fourth; 120 - Nathan James, third; 130 - Aaraon Jolcover, second; 140 - Chase Witter, third; 150 - Dan Bass, second; 175 - Matt Kleinfieldt, second.

Other seventh graders who qualified were: 75 - Garrett Merryweather, fourth; 100 - Casey Good, third, Sean Tajeran, fourth; 105 - Ryan Davies, fourth; 110 - Matt Parmenter, second; Anthony Cornell, fourth; 115 - Alan Smith, second; Brett Allen, fourth; heavyweight - Max Schadeck, second.


Eagle Valley also had an outstanding day as five of its wrestlers won titles. For the seventh grade, Mike Little improved his record to 16-0, winning all his matches by pin, as he won at 145.

Casey Hill won at 140 after trailing 12-4 in the finals to Parmenter before coming back to win by pin for the crown. At 110, Brian Halverson had to win a tough match in overtime against Adams in the semifinals on his way to winning the crown.

Loren Belard, who gives away more than 50 pounds in many of his matches, also placed third at heavyweight for the seventh grade.

In eighth grade, Chris McBroom (150), Jory McCulley (175) and Caleb Carter (130) all won titles. Other wrestlers who qualified for the Tah-Neva meet were:

Seventh grade: Robert Suwe, third, 80; Chris Paras, second, 75; Taelor McDowell, second, 155; Nick Bucowy, fourth, 125; Adam Welch, third, 85; Kyle Morrison, third, 110; Sam Osheroff, fourth, 95; Vance Dutcher, fourth, 90; Luke Carter, third, 95; Collin Grischott, second, 135; Brad Blankenship, third, 100; Anthony Pisani, third, 125.

Eighth grade: Brad Mustafa, third, 130; Alex Bucowy, third, 175; Austin Bitisillie, third, 160; Branden Nix, third, 125; David Neubel, third, Lance Cowperthwaite, fourth, heavyweight.


For Dayton, Cory Hershkowitz won the title at 165 in seventh grade. Other seventh graders to qualify for Tah-Neva were: Kyle Firestone, second, 100; Devin Galloway, second, 105; Tyler Shephard, fourth, 120; Ray Radtke, fourth, 135. For the eighth grade, Oscar Deras took third at 90 and Mike Hartley was fourth at 130.


Eighth grader Dennis Kunz won the title at 85 pounds for Silver Stage.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment