Abowds research for fund-raiser; Boy Scout leaders honored

I'm told Adele's owners Charlie and Karen Abowd checked out the Big Easy themselves in preparation for the Rotary Club's New Orleans style scholarship fund-raiser.

"Karen and I did hard research in New Orleans with events like this in mind," Charlie told editor Barry Smith. "This is the real deal. We have Dixie Voodoo Lager, crawfish and andouille sausage, all of them directly from Lafayette and St. Charles, La."

The fund-raiser kicks off 6 p.m. Thursday at the John Street restaurant. There will be dancing to Gator Beat, which plays that good old zydeco Cajun music.

Tickets are $75 each and they will go fast, so call Lori Haney at 885-1230 for tickets.

n n n

Volunteer Boy Scout leaders from our own Pinenut District were recognized with a dinner recently.

Wanda Beckman sent me chapter and verse on the dinner, so I decided to share her e-mail with you.

Before we get into the meat of the matter, one of my favorite attorneys was thanked for serving as the district's Eagle board chairman. Michael Smiley Rowe has spent 19 years as chairman during which time he and his committee evaluated and passed more than 300 scouts to the rank of Eagle Scout.

District Chairman Doyle Hanks presented certificates of appreciation to Mike Taylor of Corporate Advisory Service for providing office space and services to the district for the past 14 years, Bill Brewer for outstanding support, National Guard for meeting space, Shep Curtis of Gardnerville for leading Scouting for Food in his area, Mike Burdett of Carson City for leading Scouting for Food in the Carson area; District Commissioner Curt Shufelt presented certificates of appreciation to Katherine Thielen for cub round table commissioner, Roger Van Alyne for scout roundtable commissioner and Jeff Whitaker for varsity round tables.

Gail Roberts was presented with a plaque for her four years service as district commissioner.

Course Director Don Dixon presented Curtis Hendrix of Dayton with his earned wood badge beads.

Robert Leedom of Carson City was honored as Cub Rookie of the Year; Ken Schneider of Carson City was named Cub Leader of the Year; Rebecca Croxall of Carson Valley was named Den Leader of the Year; Carolyn Farrell of Carson City was honored with the Akela Award; Ed Kleiner of Gardnerville was named Cub Master of the Year; Cub Spirit award went to Marla Burdett of Carson City.

Eric Summers of Carson City was honored as Scout Leader of the Year; Mark Baughn of Carson Valley was named Scoutmaster of the Year; Venture Leader of the Year honors went to Phyllis Lipka Atkinson of Carson City.

Jeff Whitaker of Gardnerville was named Commissioner Rookie of the Year. Commissioner of the Year honored Roger Van Alyne of Gardnerville.

The Dayton Ward LDS, was named Chartered Partner of the Year. The Pinenut Spirit award honored Debbie and Phil Snyder of Carson Valley. Golden Pinenut honors went to: Doyle Hanks of Carson City, Katherine Thielen of Gardnerville and Bessie Wooldridge of Carson City.

District Award of Merit honored Bill Murphy, and Shirley Knight, both of Carson City. Pinenut Hall of Fame membership honored Bill Knight of Carson City and Shep Curtis of Gardnerville.

n n n

Once more I find myself leaving the Nevada Appeal, though this second trip will be a little different.

Last time I tried to leave the newspaper business but had to return when I started to break out due to lack of exposure to ink.

As of Tuesday, I'm taking the helm of The Record-Courier in Gardnerville. I'll be here at the Appeal on Monday, for those who would like to curse me in person.

Kurt Hildebrand is city editor at the Nevada Appeal until Tuesday morning. Reach him at 881-1215 or hildebrand@nevadaappeal.com.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment