WNCC students receive special recognition

More than 20 students received honors during a recognition ceremony April 15 at Western Nevada Community College, as did five faculty and staff members.

The top students were chosen by faculty in each department, who selected them on criteria that varies by department.

Student government leaders nominated the outstanding faculty and staff.

The outstanding students were: Matthew Sgambati in computer science; Kathryn Schuler in math; Paul Bennets in biology/nutrition; Tiffany Hawkins in chemistry; Jeanette Brooks in engineering; John Bradley in physics/astronomy; Sandra Atkinson in geology/geography; Allison Williamson in nursing; Larry White in criminal justice; Jesse Rasner in social sciences/sociology; Rachael Robinson in fine arts; Taylor Clark in performing arts; Katie Lauder in English and Joshua Eugene Shaw Corhorn in foreign language.

The honors program winners are all students who have completed an honors project in their classes above and beyond the normal class assignments. They have completed projects on the book-publication process.

honors program winners were David Hills, Amber Cornelius, Reed Cozens and Robyn Dennis, for their work on the book-publication process; Kerianne Carlisle in business writing for "A Paralegal's Perspective"; Rachel Robinson for "Vincent Van Gogh: A Biography on His Life" and Kelly Ogilvie for "History of the Sine Function."

The Phi Theta Kappa is an award given to the president of the organization.

This year's award went to Phi Theta Kappa President Michell Carpio.

The president is elected by fellow members.

Phi Theta Kappa is the national honor society for two-year colleges. To be eligible for membership, students must complete a minimum of 12 hours of associate degree work and earn grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher.

The regents awards went to Sue Muller, who received the academic advisors award; and Diane Dahnert, who received the regent's scholar award.

The outstanding faculty and staff awards went to Dan Neverett, Julie DeWitt and Howard Collett.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment