Tigersharks strong in Sac Triathlon

Ryan Hogan of the Carson Tigersharks finished first in his age group in the Sacramento International Triathlon held this past weekend. Hogan was among several Tigershark swimmers and coaches who competed in the event.

Two high school Tigershark swimmers, Hogan and Tatum Boehnke, competed in the sprint division which consisted of a 1,200 yard swim, 16-mile bike ride and four-mile run. Hogan won his age group in 1 hour, 39 minutes, 32 seconds.

Boehnke took second in her age group in 1.53:41. Tigershark assistant coach Bonnie Fahrenbruch was 11th in her age group in the sprint division in 2.07:20. There were 165 competitors who completed the sprint division.

In the super sprint division (400 meter swim, 8 mile bike ride, 2 mile run), Tigershark head coach Gaby Phalan was fourth in her age group in 1.06:32. Her husband, Jim Phalan, was 12th in his age group in 1.05:51. There were 145 competitors who completed the super sprint division.

In the Olympic division (1,500 meter swim, 25 mile bike ride, 6.2 mile run), Tigershark assistant coach C.J. Flatley was 13th in her age group in 3.18:43. There were 160 competitors who completed the Olympic division.

Carson Pop Warner continues signups

Carson City Pop Warner signups for the 2007 season for football and cheerleading wil continue from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, May 5.

Signups will also be held from 6 to 8:30 p.m. Tuesday, May 8. Both signups will be held at the Carson City Community Center Sierra Room.

Fees are $150 per football player and $75 per cheerleader. Registration prices will increase effective May 9.

Cheerleader registration deadline is June 30. For more information go to www.carsoncitypopwarner.org.

Baum shoos hole-in-one at Eagle Valley

Vince Baum recently shot a hole-in-one at Eagle Valley East, using a 7-iron from the white tee on the fourth hole. Craig Cedar and Jeff Hall witnessed the feat.

Carson BabeRuth opening is Saturday

Carson City Babe Ruth's opening day will be Saturday, May 5 at Governor's Field. The league will be celebrating its 50th anniversary when the ceremony begins at 10:30 a.m.

Those scheduled to attend are Mayor Marv Teixeira, Supervisor Pete Livermore, Arthur Roza, Steve Oxoby, Vic Housel and John Biale. A 50th anniversary cake will be served after the ceremony.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment