Ross wins re-election to Las Vegas city council

LAS VEGAS (AP) " Nearly 49,000 people voted in municipal primary elections that ended Tuesday in Clark County, 10.4 percent of the 469,000 registered voters in five cities, election officials said.

Las Vegas voters elected City Councilman Steve Ross to a new term as the secretary-treasurer of the Southern Nevada Building Trades Council beat Jennifer Taylor 55 percent to 45 percent, according to final unofficial results for the Ward 6 race.

Glenn Trowbridge and Stavros Anthony easily moved on in their race to represent Ward 4 on the council, beating four other candidates to set up a June runoff.

The general election is scheduled for June 2.

Nearly 23,000 people countywide voted early, another 17,000 voted on Tuesday and 8,600 voters mailed in ballots.

Two candidates advanced in the race to become Henderson's next mayor. City Councilmen Andy Hafen and Steve Kirk each took more than 30 percent of the primary vote with five candidates to choose from.

Kathleen Boutin fell short of a bid to win a Henderson city council seat outright, but still took 45 percent of the votes in her race. She faces Cathy Rosenfield in the general election.

Shari Buck and William Robinson beat three other candidates to move on in the North Las Vegas mayoral race, with current mayor Michael Montadon leaving because of term limits and running for governor in 2010.

Robert Eliason won his race for a North Las Vegas council seat by taking nearly 54 percent of the vote. Anita Wood and Angelo Carvalho emerged from a field of six candidates to set up June's race for Ward 3.

In Mesquite, voters trimmed nine candidates to six in a race for three city council seats.

Boulder City voters elected Duncan McCoy to the city council and picked Cam Walker and Bill Smith to advance to the general election for one remaining seat.

Cynthia Leung was elected as a municipal judge in Las Vegas with 66 percent of the vote, with the other two candidates each winning support from less than 19 percent.


On the Net:

Municipal election results:


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment