10 Wolf Pack players make All-WAC teams

The Nevada Wolf Pack has placed three players on the All-Western Athletic Conference football first team and seven on the second team.

 Wolf Pack junior Dontay Moch has also been named the WAC's Defensive Player of the Year and wide receiver Brandon Wimberly has been named the WAC's Freshman of the Year.

 Moch was also named to the first team along with Wolf Pack teammates Alonzo Durham (offensive line) and Vai Taua (running back).

 The Wolf Pack's All-WAC second team members are Wimberly, tight end Virgil Green, offensive lineman Kenneth Ackerman, quarterback Colin Kaepernick, defensive lineman Kevin Basped, linebacker James-Michael Johnson and defensive back Jonathon Amaya.

"I am very happy for the players who were honored and for their acheivements this season," Nevada coach Chris Ault said. "I am very proud of Dontay. He has been outstanding all year long and he is very deserving of this award. Wimberly has been one of our big playmakers this year and I am excited for his future."


  "This is a great honor and I am proud of it," Wimberly said. "It's something that I share with my coaches and teammates."

 The all-WAC teams and coach and players of the year awards were voted upon by the WAC's nine head coaches. Boise State led the league with seven first-team all-WAC honorees, while Fresno State placed six on the first team and Hawaii, Louisiana Tech joined Nevada with three each.

 All nine schools were represented on the first team. 

 Moch leads the WAC and is eighth in the nation in tackles for loss with 19.5 for a loss of 92 yards. He has 57 tackles (35 solo), including 6.5 sacks for a loss of 49 yards. He has also broken up three passes and forced two fumbles on the year. Moch has helped lead the Nevada defense to first in the WAC in rushing defense and third in total defense.

 This is Nevada's first ever WAC Defensive Player of the Year award.

 Wimberly, a redshirt-freshman wide receiver from Los Angeles, Calif. (Gardena HS), leads Nevada and is 10th in the WAC in both receptions per game (3.8) and receiving yards per game (54.4). He has caught 46 passes for 653 yards and five touchdowns.

 This is Nevada's third WAC Freshman of the Year award. Chance Kretschmer won it in 2001 and quarterback Colin Kaepernick won it in 2007.

 Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore was named the Offensive Player of the Year. The Broncos' Chris Petersen was voted the WAC's Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

 Moore, a sophomore quarterback from Prosser, Wash. (Prosser HS), leads the nation in passing efficiency with a 167.35 rating. He has completed 254-of-392 passes for 3,325 yards and 39 touchdowns with just three interceptions in leading the Broncos to a perfect 13-0 record and a berth in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 4.

 Petersen earned his second WAC Coach of the Year award after directing Boise State to a perfect 13-0 record and the Broncos' seventh WAC title in eight years. Petersen has racked up a record of 48-4 (31-1 WAC) in four seasons with Boise State. It is the fourth Coach of the Year award for a Boise State head coach as Dan Hawkins won it in both 2002 and 2004.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment