Sandoval names 15 member Teachers and Leaders Council

Gov. Brian Sandoval has named the 15 members of the newly created Teachers and Leaders Council.

The council is charged with preparing recommendations for the State Board of Education to establish a statewide performance evaluation system.

The members include teachers and school administrators, school board members, education policy experts and a parent as well as representatives of the Superintendent of Education and university system chancellor.

The members will serve three year terms without compensation.

They are:

• Teachers Barbara Surritte-Barker of Washoe, Theresa Crowley of Washoe, Theodore Small of Clark and Kathleen Galland-Collins of Clark.

• School administrators Dale Norton of Nye, Linda Arranchambault of Clark and Washoe Superintendent Heath Morrison.

• School board members Sharla Hales of Douglas and Theo Michael McCormick of Lyon.

• Teacher training program member Pam Salazar of Clark.

• Parent Kimberly Tate of Clark.

• Education policy experts Robert McCord of Clark and Mary Peterson of Carson City.

• Superintendent's representative Rorie Fitzpatrick of Carson City.

• Chancellor's representative Christine Cheney of Washoe.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment