Oceguera, Cegavske head Friday's candidate filings

As the candidate filing period reached the halfway point Friday, several major names were added to the list, including outgoing Assembly Speaker John Oceguera and longtime state Sen. Barbara Cegavske.

Oceguera is the third Democrat to enter the race in Clark County's Congressional District 3. Incumbent Republican Joe Heck has announced but not yet filed.

Cegavske became the fifth Republican to enter the CD4 race.

One of those candidates is Danny Tarkanian, who is making his third bid for a major state office.

Democratic state Senate Majority Leader Steven Horsford has announced but not yet filed for CD4.

No new names were added to the U.S. Senate race since Tuesday.

Appointed Sen. Dean Heller still faces three primary challengers. The odds-on favorite to be his opponent in the general election, Democratic Rep. Shelley Berkley, still hasn't filed.

In CD1, former Congresswoman Dina Titus, a Democrat, has filed.

Likewise, Carson City's Mark Amodei, who won the CD2 seat vacated by Heller's appointment in a September special election, still hasn't filed for that office.

Both, however, have announced their intention to run. Independent American Russell Best remains the only filed candidate there.

Carson City's Assembly District 40 incumbent, Republican Pete Livermore, still had no opposition as of 5 p.m. Friday.

Filed candidates in federal contests and northern, multi-county legislative offices are:

U.S. Senate: Sherry Brooks of Reno, Eddie Hamilton of Henderson, Dean Heller of Carson City and Carlo Poliak of Las Vegas, all Republicans, and Nancy Price of Sparks, Democrat.

CD1 in Clark County: Christopher Edwards of Las Vegas, Gus Charmaine of North Las Vegas, Brian Landsberger of Las Vegas, Herbert Peters of Boulder City, Miguel Rodrigues of Las Vegas, all Republicans, Democrat Dina Titus of Las Vegas and Independent American Stan Vaughan.

CD2 in northern and rural Nevada: Russell Best, IAP.

CD3 in Clark County: Republican Chris Dyer of Henderson, Democrats Jesse Holder of Henderson, Barry Michaels of Las Vegas and John Oceguera of Las Vegas and Tom Jones, IAP.

CD4 in Clark County and eastern Nevada: Diana Anderson, Dan Schwartz, Danny Tarkanian and Kenneth Wegner, all Las Vegas Republicans.

Senate District 19 in rural Nevada: Republican Pete Goicoechea of Eureka and Independent American Janine Hansen of Elko.

Assembly District 32: Republican Ira Hansen of Sparks.

Assembly District 33: Republican John Ellison of Elko.

Assembly District 36: Walt Grudzinski of Pahrump, Delmar Leatham of Longdale, James Oscarson of Pahrump and Nate Schlumpf of Las Vegas, all Republicans, and Democrat Anthony Wernicke of Las Vegas.

Assembly District 38: Republican Tom Grady of Yerington.

Assembly District 39: Kelly Kite of Minden, Gary Schmidt of Dayton and Jim Wheeler of Minden, all Republicans, and David Schumann of Carson City, IAP.

Assembly District 40: Republican Pete Livermore of Carson City.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment