Panzram is Tigersharks new coach

Steve Panzram has taken over as the new head coach of the Carson Tigersharks swim program.

Panzram comes to Carson City by way of Hattieburg, Miss., where he coached the Hub Fins.

He has coached for 35 years, and his emphasis is teaching proper stroke technique in all four strokes. He has coached Olympic Trial qualifies in 2008 and 2012, and he has coached nationally ranked Masters swimmers.

Panzram, a 1978 Auburn graduate, has coached teams in Pennsylvania, Alabama, Tennessee and Florida. He was named the Age Group Coach of the Year in 1993 for the Southeastern LSC.

Addy Panzram is the Tigersharks' new age-group coach. A graduate of the University of Washington in 1999, she was an MVP her last three season at UW. She was a PAC-10 finalist and swam competitively for 16 years.

Tigersharks fare well

in Reno event

Carson sent 51 swimmers to the annual Reno/Sparks King of the Hill event over the weekend.

A.J. Gutierrez (200 fly), Miah Hessig (50 free), Dagen Kipling (200 fly, 100 breast, 200 breast and 200 IM, Abby Pittman (50 and 500 free), Benjamin Heaton (100 back) and Jeremy Heaton (100 back) finished first in their respective age groups.

The following swimmers placed in the top 3 of their events:

• Eli Everest 2nd in 1,000 free; 2nd in 200 breast, 3rd in 200 free, 200 Back, 100 Fly and 200 IM;

• Benjamin Heaton 2nd in 100 free, 3rd in 25 Back and 25 Free.

• Dagen Kipling 2nd in 200 free, 200 back and 100 fly.

• Brett Kolb 2nd in 400 IM and 200 fly.

• Kendall McDonald 3rd in 25 back.

• Amay Mendeguia 2nd in 50 back and 50 free.

• Ashley Meyer 3rd in 500 free.

• Pittman 3rd in 400 IM.

• Tallon Rauch 3rd in 200 back.

• Christian Riley 3rd in 400 IM.

• Taylor Rojo 2nd in 100 breast.

The following swimmers placed in the top 8 of their events:

• Kaly Branco, Reece Canfield, Stella Carroll, Tyler Crisp, Gabby Frank, Kayce Johnston, Christy Krahn, Kaitlyn Nelson, Morgan Nelson, Garrett Nussbaumer, Varun Pandit, Brennan Pott, Vanessa Rauch, Jay Session and Amanda Wen.


CMS runners shine

Carson Middle School's 8th grade cross country team won the TahNeva championship recently at Kahle Park.

Carson finished with 57 points, two ahead of Pau Wa Lu and 24 in front of North Tahoe.

Knoor Van Worth (19:34.2) and Spencer Rogers (19:37.18) finished 13th and 14th on the 2.63-mile course. Kiefer Catron was 17th in 20:07.06, Rylan Kane was 21st in 20:27.15 and Daniel Chavez was 30th in 21:14.18.

Eagle Valley's Geraet Rauh was ninth in 19:23.21.

Carson Middle finished second to North Tahoe in the 7th grade boys race. North Tahoe finished with 44 points and Carson Middle had 78.

Kyle Glanzmann was second in 14:11 over the 2.13-mile course. Khayman Garland was 13th in 15:40, Evan Vizzuse and Logan Galhaut were 18th and 19th, and both were timed in 15:57. Mark Carter was 26th in 16:08.

Eagle Valley's Jonahan Ortiz was 43rd in 17 minutes.

Carson Middle (54) was second in the 8th grade girls race behind Alder Creek (25).

Samantha Gutierrez was third in 19:34 over the 2.63-mile course. Jiavanna Wong-Fur was 15th in 22:54.27 and Annalucia Kinder was 16th in 24:31.82. Carly Peckham was 21st in 23:44.60 and Dominique D'Orazi was 23rd in 24:19.08.

The top Eagle Valley finisher was Kara Berggren (10th, 22:20.08).

Carson Middle was sixth in the 7th grade girls race with 133 points, well off North Tahoe's winning 60-point effort.

Brynn Lehman was seventh in 16:29 and Rhanna Jackson was 12th in 16:42.69.

Erika Nauyoks of Eagle Valley was eighth in 16:33.69.


Tiny Mite Blue win in OT

The Carson Tiny Mite Blue (6-0-1) won a playoff game between unbeaten teams as it beat the Reno Wolf Pack 36-30.

The first half had QB Zach Gutrie scoring two touchdowns, and wingbacks Alex Myrehn and Jessie Delgado each with one TD. Great blocking by fullback Tyler LaFollette and linemen Drake Hardcastle and Dylan Cooley led to a 24-12 halftime lead for the Blue.

The defense chipped in with huge plays by DB Quentin Beck, DL Zach Lopez, LB Damian Morris, DL Isiah Ortega and a fumble recovery by Eric Pool.

The second half was just as exciting, with Guthrie and Myrehn each scoring a touchdown behind large holes opened by center Jessie Metoxen, guard Eli Locatelli and end Paul Perez. The defense came up big when needed, led by a Delgado fumble recovery and great tackling by ends Sklar Southwell and Josiah White and tackles Brandon Bradley and Eddie Flores.

Pee-Wee team moves on

The Carson Pee Wee Senators ended the regular season undefeated at 7-0, knocking off the Sparks Wolfpack 20-7.

The Wolfpack took the ball the length of the field to go up 7-0 on their opening drive, but thanks to the work of defenders Ty Evans (two sacks), Sean Sear (two sacks), Zane Johnson (sack), Adam Fenton (interception) and Steven Keith (interception) Sparks was kept out of the end zone the remainder of the game.

After Carson cut the deficit to 7-6, Richard Romero and Wyatt Rooker scored touchdowns to extend Carson's lead.

QB Dawson Breuer, Jesse Case, Garrett Clampitt, Jesse Case, Evans, and Jack Williams played well offensively.

Carson ends its regular season 7-0, outscoring its opponents 160-31. Carson faces Fallon at 7 p.m. Friday at Governors Field in the opening round of the playoffs.


Barbaria, Thomas win

Tony Barbaria and Terry Thomas teamed up to shoot a net 54 to win the A flight at the Empire Ranch Senior Men's Club two-man bet ball event on Oct. 17.

Richard Torak and Fred Coons were second with a 57, while Don Powers and Randy Wegner were third at 59.

Richard Ziegler and Mick Ryan won Flight B with a 53, two shots better than Paul Lockwood and Tom Harlow. Vic Roscha and Billy Barker were third at 59.


Carson FC U14 wins Sagebrush tourney

The Carson FC Wolfpack U14 girls team entered 2012 with a retooled line up that included new faces and a complete overhaul of the offensive line and the changes have resulted in the team having it's most productive offensive season to date.

The team won the Sagebrush Fall Friendship Tournament in Reno in dominant fashion, including four shutouts. The title win was a 4-0 decision over Juventus Galaxy of Redwood City.

Then just six days later they clinched the GBYSL U14 girls division championship with their seventh straight victory, a stretch where opponents were outscored 56-0. Eva Swearngin and Galilea Cid each averaged more than two goals per game for the season.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment