Lineup is set for Made In Reno music showcase

Ten artists were chosen in a online poll and 10 more were chosen by producers based on professionalism, songwriting and performing skills for the fifth annual Made In Reno music contest.

The contest is set for 6 and 9:15 p.m. April 25 at the Pioneer Underground, 100 S. Virginia St. in Reno. Performing at the 6 p.m. show are Silverwing, lovePop!, Six Mile Station, Emily Morris, Mason James Frey, Lizzie Cates, Grant Davis, Craig Prather, Mel Wade and Tom Van Ruiten.

Performing at the 9:15 p.m. show are Danny Butler, Knowledge, Weapons of Mass Creation, The Pretty Unknown, Tovah Goodman, Tyler Stafford, Ruby Jaye Fradkin, Ryan James, CRUSH and Dirk Spaldo.

Each artist will perform one original song in an acoustic format or accompanying a performance track. Independent judges will select three artists from each show to perform at the finals, set for 7:30 p.m. May 2 at the Pioneer Underground. The overall winner will earn the title of “Reno’s Best Songwriter” and will qualify to have an original recording receive airplay on KDOT-FM 104.5.

“Some of these acts are veterans with regional followings,” co-producer and event creator Michael Sion said in a news release. “Others are young up-and-comers who, with the proper boost, are destined to make a big splash nationally and beyond.”

Tickets cost $12 in advance and $17 the day of the show. Both shows are open to all ages.

For more information or to buy tickets, go to Tickets also are available from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Pioneer Center for the Arts box office, and at the Pioneer Underground on show nights between 6 and 11 p.m.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment