Sandoval appoints members to sage grouse council

(AP) - Gov. Brian Sandoval has named 12 Nevadans to a council that will oversee efforts to avoid new federal protections for sage grouse.

The bird's listing under the Endangered Species Act could lead to restrictions on development and other activities on public land.

Named as voting members of the Sagebrush Ecosystem Council were Doug Busselman and Tina Nappe, both of Washoe County; Starla Lacey of Clark County; J.J. Goicoechea of Eureka County; Allen Biaggi and Jeremy Drew, both of Douglas County; Steven Boies and Kent McAdoo, both of Elko County; and Gerry Emm of Carson City.

They represent a wide variety of interests, including ranching, mining, energy, conservation and sportsmen.

Non-voting members are the state heads of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Bureau of Land Management and Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment