Rupert reappointed to national tourism board

Shannon Litz / Nevada Appeal

Shannon Litz / Nevada Appeal

Nevada Indian Commission Executive Director Sherry L. Rupert was sworn in as a member of the Travel and Tourism Advisory Board for a second term by U.S. Deputy Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker.

“I am honored to continue to serve on the Travel and Tourism Advisory Board for a second term,” said Rupert, who also serves as the American Indian Alaska Native Tourism Association president and grew up in Carson City.

The board, established in 2003, serves as the advisory body to the secretary of commerce on matters relating to the travel and tourism industry in the United States. Its members represent a cross-section of the industry including transportation services, financial services, and hotels and restaurants, as well as a mix of small and large firms from across the country.

The swearing-in ceremony took place in Chicago during the annual board of directors meeting last week at the 2014 IPW Conference, an event for travel and tourism professionals.

A full list of Travel and Tourism Advisory Board members and other information is at


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment