Congratulations to the recipients of the American Association of University Woman’s scholarships. Each year AAUW awards scholarships to high school students and students who are returning to school to complete a degree.

American Association of University Woman has awarded scholarships to high-school students Alison James, and Debra Beyer, an outstanding student who ranked third in her class.

Two re-entry also scholarships were awarded. The first recipient is Megan DeSouza who is working on her associate’s degree and plans to attend University of Nevada, Reno. She is interested in social work. The continuing scholarship recipient is Tricia Strasdin, who received the re-entry scholarship last year and is continuing her pursuit of an English degree.

The Community Service Thrift Shop congratulates scholarship recipients Aurora Smith, Trey McGowan, Tim Camper, Timothy Rosario, Jordan Warner, Megan Warner, Lindsey Golding and Shelby Blakey.

Pat Stephens, retired Churchill County High School teacher, started this program and serving as chairman of the scholarship committee since 1987.

The scholarship committee has awarded 148 recipients with $210,000 in scholarships during our 28 years of operation. CSTS has been able to provide many scholarships through the efforts of all the volunteers through during the years of serving our community.

The Fernley Republican Women (FRW) has awarded a $1,000 scholarship to Jensen Radley, who excelled in academics, athletics, leadership and community service. Jensen plans to attend UNLV in the fall.

Jensen graduated last week from Fernley High School with honors. Her academic strengths are in math, science and history. She has taken honors classes, advanced math classes, AP classes and participated in a duel credit program through Western Nevada College. She was the 2014-15 Senior Class President.

Fallon resident Alison James has been awarded a $2,000 scholarship from Greater Nevada Credit Union. James will be attending Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah.

This year, approximately 114 students applied for scholarships from Greater Nevada Credit Union, and 20 total were selected to each receive $2,000 for the 2015-2016 school year. Nearly a quarter million dollars has been awarded to students since Greater Nevada began its academic scholarship program 16 years ago.

Fallon resident Katie O’Brien, a junior child life major at Harding University, is among more than 1,200 University students included on the dean’s list for grades achieved during the spring 2015 semester.The dean’s list is published each semester by Dr. Larry Long, University provost, honoring those who have achieved high scholarship.

To be eligible, a student must be carrying 12 or more hours with a 3.65 or higher grade-point average and no incompletes.Harding is the largest private university in Arkansas with 6,075 students and has been ranked by U.S. News & World Report for the 21st consecutive year as a top 25 school in the South. Harding also maintains campuses in Australia, Chile, England, France, Greece, Italy and Zambia. For more information visit


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment