Newest law enforcement officers receive badges

Thirty-seven of the Nevada Department of Public Safety’s newest law enforcement officers graduated from the Nevada Department of Public Safety’s Training Division in Carson City.

After 15 weeks of learning the basic skills to serve as a Nevada Highway Patrol trooper, Parole and Probation officer and Capitol Police officer the men and women of Nevada Department of Public Safety academy class 72 recited the official oath of office to serve and protect the State of Nevada and received their badges. Seventeen graduates will be assigned to the Highway Patrol Division, 19 to the Parole and Probation Division and one will be assigned to the Capitol Police Division.

Trooper Colby Powell will be assigned to the Fallon division.

In attendance were DPS Director James M. Wright and Deputy Director Jackie Muth. NHP Chief Col. Dennis Osborn, Parole and Probation Chief Natalie Wood, Capitol Police Chief Jerome Tushbant, State Fire Marshal Peter Mulvihill and Nevada Department of Investigation Chief Patrick Conmay.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment