Community sports: JJ Ply wins regional decathlon, qualifies for nationals

The Silverada Little League Junior All Star Team begins play July 11 in Fernley. Team members are between the ages of 12-14. They are from left:

The Silverada Little League Junior All Star Team begins play July 11 in Fernley. Team members are between the ages of 12-14. They are from left:

JJ Ply of Dayton High School won the Region 16 Junior Olympic Decathlon last weekend at Chabot College in Hayward.

He finished with 5,818 points, which was short of his 6,000-point goal, but was good enough to qualify for the nationals July 25-31 at Hornet Stadium on the campus of Sacramento State.

This was Ply’s second win of the summer. He won the Mt. Sac Multis at the end of May with 5,680 points.

“The competitors were a really good group of guys,” Ply said. “They were tough to compete against. We encouraged each other the entire time.

“We did some hard work last week that really paid off in the throws I appreciate their (Zach Hawley and Josh Koch) willingness to coach me.”

Ply was third after his first three events — 100, long jump and shot put. He got within 250 points of the lead with a 6-3 1/2 effort in the high jump and a solid effort in the 400 which gave him 2,832 points after the first day.

Ply ran a 15.80 in the hurdles, earning 755 points. He threw 10 meters in the discus, the third-best throw in the competition, to move into first by 180 points. He went 11-11 3/4 in the vault, and stopped there to conserve energy for the javelin and 1500. He threw 124 feet in the javelin, taking a 400-point lead into the final event. He ran the 1500 meters in 4:35, good for first place and 712 points.

Beauchman, Taylor win top honors at S. Oak

Milo Beauchman shot a low gross 62 to win $200 and top honors for Silver Oak’s President’s Cup event. Buddy Taylor took low net honors over the field with a 55.

Aaron Lynch won Flight 1 low net with a 59, a stroke ahead of Aaron Lynch, and two ahead of Ian Ippolito and Eric Sorenson. Ryan Balik, Jeff Damario, Manny Lopez and Robert Martin tied for Flight 2 low net with 56s.

Russell Nichols shot a net 68 to win Flight 1 at the Sunday Men’s Club event on June 12. The field played the event from the black tees.

Lee Plemel was second with a 69, while Beauchman and Jim Silsby tied for third at 73. Vern Payette won Flight 2 with a 64. Dennis Prutch, Jeff Damario and Joe Paden tied for second with 70s. Plemel won low gross and closest to the hole honors.

Tim Bloom, Ron Tamori, Alex Talmant and Tim Ricketts shot a net 57 to win Flight 1 at a recent Senior Men’s Club event. In Flight 2, Gary Helseth and Tom Keating tied with a 57, and John Scoville was third with a 58.

Milligan tops Empire Ranch golfers

Bill Milligan shot a 46 to win the A flight at the Senior Men’s Club tourney on June 29. The format was Stableford scoring. Tom Welton was runner-up with a 43 and Bill Gibson was third at 41.

Fred Olesek was first in Flight B with a 45. Skip Yokota also had a 45 and Dennis Joseph was third with a 44. Dave Ziegler won Flight C with a 43, one point ahead of Bobby Watson and Rich Bremenour. Jack Medeiros (44), Adam Huber (44) and Greg Bentley (43) were the top three finishers in Flight D, and Joe Gibson won Flight E with a 48, three points ahead of Don Rodgers and six ahead of Bob Pluth.

Yokota, Al Giannotti, Fred Coons and Bill Allen were closes to the hole winners.

Anderson records ace at Thunder Canyon

John Anderson scored an ace on the par-3 134-yard 8th hole at Thunder Canyon recently. He used a pitching wedge.

Don Burke Sr., Don Burke Jr., Cheryl Burke and Carl Overmier won the July 4th tournament. No scores were reported.

Guntis Sietins, John Wulf, Ryan Smith and Eric Ottenheimer were second, while John and Lolene Terry, and Shelly Brewster-Meredith and Todd Harmon were third.

Silverada all-stars compete in Fernley

The Silverada Little League Junior All Star Team opens District play July 11.

Members of the team are Isaiah Powell, Rudy Hindelang, Caleb Sumsion, Jacob Hendrix, Carlos Hernandez, Andrew Goodale, Avery Fowler, Colby Mason, Ethan Callan, Broc Strong, Gavin Gitthens and Johnny Morrison.

Community sports submissions can be sent to by noon Mondays.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment