The nine-year-old Nevada law designed to implement federal reporting requirements for convicted sex offenders will take effect July 1 in the wake a court ruling denying further appeals and delays.
The so-called Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act was originally passed by Nevada lawmakers in 2007 but was on hold because of litigation protesting requirements longtime low-level offenders be included in on-line reporting of their identities and whereabouts.
In the past, those offenders were exempt from website disclosure.
The requirements assign a Tier 3 offender as someone whose victim was under age 13 or one convicted of a violent crime.
Tier 2 offenders are those whose victims were over 13 but under 18.
All other offenders are placed into Tier 1.
In addition, the law changes how often offenders must report personal information and how many years they must provide those reports.
Tier 1 offenders must report annually for 15 years. Tier 2 offenders must report every 180 days for 25 years. Those in Tier 3 must report every 90 days for life.
Nevada currently has about 6,500 registered sex offenders. Of that total, a large number are in the most serious Tier 3 category. The populations in the other two Tiers are pretty evenly split.