Darrell Moody: Carter leads Carson High football award winners

Carson High football coach Blair Roman put a wrap on the 2017 football season at the season-ending banquet at The Grove in Reno.

As expected, Abel Carter won the Most Outstanding Senior award. Carter, a three-year starter, gained 4,950 yards rushing and had 53 rushing touchdowns, 59 overall. He will go down in history, at least to this point, as the best running back in CHS history.

He was also a force on defense with 138 tackles and seven interceptions, two of which were returned for touchdowns against Desert Mountain in the opening game of the 2016 season.

The Desert Mountain game was really his coming out party. He had six touchdowns that game, four rushing and two interception returns. The interception returns came on back-to-back possessions. That game led to 1,887 yards rushing.

For his career, he averaged 9.3 an attempt, nearly a full yard ahead of Dylan Sawyers, whose brilliant career was marred by injuries. Sawyers had 3,723 rushing yards and 54 rushing TDs, 67 overall.

“Two different players, did different things on offense and had different strengths,” Roman said.

Carter had the aforementioned six-touchdown game, and he also rushed for a school-record 421 yards and five scores against Douglas in the last regular-season game this year.

Sawyers had six touchdowns rushing against North Valleys in 2011, and he rushed for five scores in back-to-back weeks against Reno and Damonte Ranch. In that Reno game, he rushed for 329 yards.

The next biggest award — Hoggie Award — went to Dallin Shaffer and Liam Desormier.

“Those two really held things down for us on the lines and had great years, especially considering all the young guys who started or played on the O and D lines this year,” Roman said.

Captain awards went to Carter, Shaffer, Richie Romero, Kyle Glanzmann and Dawson Lamb. The Four-Year Award was handed out to Ty Evans, Daniel Morrison, Dawson Breuer, Terin Keller, Jesse Case, Blaise Bonomo, Bryce Newhall and Gabe Gabica.

The Commitment Award was received by James Purdy, Bryson Keller and Jose Cazares. Zach Schmidt and Zack Scroggins won the Senator Award, and Darryll Heyward and Brandon Macias won Most Improved Senior.

Tanner Kalicki won the Coach D Award for special teams, Lamb won the Pride Award, Glanzmann was the Scholar-Athlete winner, Vinny Hershman won the Hard Hat Weight Room Award, and Kyle Rudy and Desormier were the Warrior Award winners.


Vince Inglima, former Carson High basketball standout, has been appointed basketball coach at San Francisco State University.

Inglima was named the interim head coach at the start of the season, and recently had the interim tagged removed. The Gators are 6-4 this year.

“I’m humbled and appreciative of the opportunity that President Wong and (AD) Bill Nepfel have given me to lead the program into the future,” Inglima said. “I look forward to continuing to build San Francisco State’s men’s program into a consistent championship-caliber program both on and off the court.”

Inglima is the 13th head coach in school history. He had been an assistant coach the past four seasons.

Inglima played two seasons at Sonoma State. As a senior, he was both an All-American and Academic All-American. He was inducted into the Sonoma State Hall of Fame in 2012.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment