SILVER DOLLARS AND WOODEN NICKELS: We should always remember

The Nevada Appeal’s Silver Dollars & Wooden Nickels feature recognizes achievements from the capital region and, when warranted, points out other acts that missed the mark.

SILVER DOLLAR: On this Memorial Day weekend we remember all those who paid the ultimate sacrifice in defending this nation. Remembering the ultimate sacrifice paid by those four our freedom is something we should do every day of our lives.

SILVER DOLLAR: Now that the high school spring sports season is over it’s time to recognize all those who advanced to the state level for Carson, Dayton and Sierra Lutheran High Schools and it’s a long list. We begin with Dayton’s J.J. Ply who won three state titles in track in the 110-meter high hurdles and 300 hurdles and the high jump. The Sierra Lutheran girls not only won their fourth straight state title, but won the state academic crown as well. They were led by Elaina Marchegger, who won four events, the 800, 1600 and 3200 and 3200 relay. She was joined on the 3200 relay by Taylor Davison, Clare Davison and Emily McNeely. Sierra Lutheran’s boys took second led by Jared Marchegger’s win in the 1600 plus a win by the 3200-meter squad of Marchegger, Ricky McNeely, Caleb Contreras and Craig Moe, Marchegger won three titles as he also won the 3200. Others who competed for Sierra Lutheran were Jeremy Hellwinkel, Peyton Hedwall and Grant Goins. Others on the Sierra Lutheran girls team included Grace Bonafede, who won the state title in the triple jump, Aleyna Gibson, Rachel Hall, Abby Ferenz, Ciera Schinzing and Rosalie Antonucci. Those who competed for Dayton’s girls included Ashley Mason, Rebecca Mason, Sydney Strickler and Grace Wells. Carson Crosby also competed for Dayton’s boys. Those who competed for Carson were Abby Pradere, Jaidyn Shepard, Ashley Britt, Annika Wick, Anya Woodbury, Abbey Paulson, Rheanna Jackson and Greg Wallace. Carson was also well-represented in the State Swimming Championships with the following swimmers competing: Reece Canfield, Matthew Hill, Brett Kolb, Alexander Gutierrez, Bryan Remick, Blanca Sosa, America Brenna Gutierrez, Hannah Presley and Nicole Van Geel.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment