Democrats release proposed Nevada redistricting maps

Legislative Democrats on Tuesday released their proposed reapportionment maps for the coming decade, outlining boundaries for Nevada’s four congressional districts, State Senate and Assembly districts.
Those maps are unlikely to change much when the special session comes likely this month, but before the year ends, since Democrats hold majorities in both the Senate and Assembly.
They resisted the temptation to increase the number of lawmakers, sticking with 21 senators and 42 Assembly members.
For the Carson City, Douglas and Storey districts, the changes don’t appear to be dramatic.
Carson City remains in Senate District 16, vacated last month by Ben Kieckhefer. And the district still includes part of southern Washoe County. It also includes Storey County.
Assembly District 40, currently occupied by P.K. O’Neill, also remains centered in Carson City with a piece of south Washoe County and Storey County.
Outgoing Sen. James Settelmeyer’s District 17 remains centered on Douglas County but loses Storey County. The district now includes Douglas, Churchill, Lyon, Mineral and Esmeralda and a chunk of Lander and northern Nye counties.
Republican Mark Amodei’s Congressional District 2 grew with the addition of White Pine County and a larger slice of Lyon County. That district now encompasses Washoe, Storey, Douglas, Churchill, Humboldt, Pershing, Lander, Eureka, Elko, Northern Lyon and White Pine.
The other multi-county Congressional District is CD4 currently held by Democrat Steven Horsford. It includes the bottom end of Lyon, Mineral, Esmeralda, Nye, Lincoln and part of Clark counties.
The other two congressional districts are both entirely within Clark County. They are represented by Democrats Dina Titus and Suzie Lee.
All legislative districts are still nested — two assembly districts in each state Senate district.
And like the current maps, Lyon County remains the only county divided between districts with the northern portion in CD2 and the southern in CD4. In addition,
Assembly District 39 held by Republican Jim Wheeler continues to represent Douglas and part of Lyon.
The maps can be viewed at


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment