Business winners named at Pioneer Awards in Carson |

Business winners named at Pioneer Awards in Carson

Northern Nevada Business Weekly

Five companies won Business of the Year honors, and 10 businesses and nonprofit groups were honored for their accomplishments during the 2013 Pioneer Awards on Wednesday night at the Carson Nugget.

The awards are sponsored by Northern Nevada Development Authority. Business of the Year winners included:

Carson City: Click Bond Inc.

Churchill County: Henning Automotive (Fallon Auto Mall).

Douglas County: GE Bently.

Lyon County: Miles Construction.

Storey County: Tahoe Reno Industrial Center.

Other Pioneer Awards included:

Comstock Award for Innovator of the Year: Nevada Rural Housing Authority.

Doc Holliday Award for Best Healthcare Initiative: Health Communities Coalition of Lyon and Storey Counties.

Homestead Award for Best Agricultural Initiative: Bently Ranch Biofuel.

Kit Carson Best Entrepreneur Award: Fran Pritchard of Killer Salsa.

Mark Twain Award for Best Marketing Initiative: No Place Like Home.

Pony Express Award for Best Community Involvement or Project: Star Anderson, general manager of the Carson Nugget.

Silver Apple Award for Best Education Initiative: Tie with two Western Nevada College initiatives — Dream It, Do It and Right Skills Now.

Silver Spur Award for Outstanding Employee: Jay Summerville of American AVK Co.

Wagon Wheel Award for Best Technology, Program or Patent: Sierra Kombucha for health tea from an old Chinese formula.