Western Nevada College recognizes honor society inductees | NevadaAppeal.com

Western Nevada College recognizes honor society inductees

Western Nevada College
WNC’s Carson Chapter of the PTK honor society celebrate its new members on April 24 in Marlette Hall.

Western Nevada College celebrated the induction of 43 students into the Phi Theta Kappa national honor society during ceremonies on April 24 and April 26 on the college’s Carson City and Fallon campuses.

The mission of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize academic achievement of college students and to provide opportunities for them to grow as scholars and leaders.

WNC President Vincent Solis provided the keynote addresses during the induction ceremonies at the Pennington Life Center in Fallon and Marlette Hall in Carson City.

“Dr. Solis’ dedication to our college and our community exemplifies the very best of Western Nevada College, and his support of PTK inspires our members as they commit themselves to service and leadership in our community by joining our honor society,” PTK Carson adviser Geri Pope said.

PTK was created in 1918 and has served as a means to honor and encourage academic achievement of community college students. The organization also provides opportunities for individual student growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.

In order for WNC students to qualify for PTK membership, they must complete a minimum of 12 hours of associate degree coursework with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher throughout their enrollment at the college.

WNC’s 2019 PTK inductees for Alpha Upsilon Beta and Beta Theta Iota chapters are:

Carson City Chapter

Erin Abid, Melissa Carlisle, Lothel Englekirk, Teresa Fernandez, Hugh Fonzo, Emma Gardner, Regan Hammond, Ryan Johnson, Megan Kerrigan, Amanda Killgore, Gabrielle Kortemeier, Daniel Ledezma, Nubia Leon-Lozano, Laura O’Connor, Waydd Rechard, Matthew Reiner, Jodi Roan, Joanna Rowley, Jennifer Sanchez, Coye Shelton, Malachi Southerland, Laura Sandoval-Staten, Jared Walker

Fallon Chapter

Bobbie Bonta, Kaimani-Lei Feliciano, Karley Frederick, Rebekah Henderson, Hannah Jones, Conor Keitz, Michele McClellan, Myraflor McNamer, Noemi Ortiz, Jazmine Perez, Lindsay Regan, Emily Richards, Savannah Robinson, Brooke Shyne, Ashley Sorensen, Erica Stritenberger, Dowain Swain, Maria Whitaker, Elizabeth Williams