Elko County GOP chairman elected to national slot | NevadaAppeal.com

Elko County GOP chairman elected to national slot

The Associated Press

ELKO — The chairman of the Elko County Republican Party has been elected a national GOP committeeman representing Nevada.

The GOP state central committee chose Lee Hoffman at last weekend’s meeting to serve as one of three Nevadans on the Republican National Committee.

The others are Nevada GOP Chairman Michael McDonald and national committeewoman Diana Orrock, a Ron Paul supporter from Clark County.

Hoffman told the Elko Daily Free Press he is committed to working to help bring together competing factions in a divided party.

Congressman Mark Amodei of Carson City was among those who recommended him for the post.

Hoffman was elected to the Elko City Council in 1989 and served five terms. He also worked more than 30 years at Newmont Mining Corp.