Early voting begins Saturday | NevadaAppeal.com

Early voting begins Saturday

Early voting for the June 10 primary election opens Saturday across the state.

But Carson City Clerk-Recorder Alan Glover doesn’t expect a big turnout in the capital. He said the most interesting races on the ballot this primary are the sheriff’s race and the Republican primary for Assembly District 40.

“We’re not going to have a large turnout, frankly,” Glover said.

He said voters can cast ballots at the courthouse between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. Saturday.

The office will be closed Sunday and Monday, which is Memorial Day.

Then it will be open for voters from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday through Friday.

Saturday, May 31, voting will be open 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. and, Monday through the following Friday, from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Early voting closes June 6.

Glover said 20 voting machines will be available to speed people through the process.

Also, this year for the first time, he said Carson City will use electronic poll books. Voters will be able to check in on a screen much like the credit card machine at a grocery store.

Glover said Carson is the only place in the state using electronic poll books. He said voters can simplify the process by bringing their sample ballot which has a bar code on the back or their drivers’ license. He said poll workers also can manually look up a voter’s record.

The Secretary of State’s office says voters who haven’t received their sample ballots can find them online along with a list of races and polling places. Look in the “My Voter File” at nvsos.gov/votersearch.

In Assembly District 40, vacated by the retiring Pete Livermore, two Republicans have filed. They are community activist Jed Block and ex-law enforcement official P.K. O’Neill.

There is also a Democrat in the race — State Board of Education member Dave Cook — but he is unopposed in the primary.

District Judges Todd Russell and Jim Wilson, Assessor Dave Dawley, Clerk-Recorder Sue Merriwether, Treasurer Al Kramer and School Trustee Deonne Contine are all on the ballot but unopposed. Each needs only one vote to be elected in the primary.