Four file for Carson City mayor; Angle files for senate |

Four file for Carson City mayor; Angle files for senate

Candidates are in alphabetical order, (I) means incumbent.

Multi-County and Statewide Races

U.S. Senate:

Sharron Angle, Reno, Republican

D’Nese Davis, Las Vegas, Republican

Tony Gumina, Las Vegas, Independent

Eddie Hamilton, Las Vegas, Republican

Joe Heck, Las Vegas, Republican

Thomas Heck, Las Vegas, Republican

Tom Jones, Las Vegas, Independent American

Robert Leeds, Las Vegas, Republican

Bobby Mahendra, Las Vegas, Democrat

Catherine Cortez Masto, Las Vegas, Democrat

Susan O’Briant, Las Vegas, Democrat

Carlo Poliak, Las Vegas, Republican

Juston Preble, Henderson, Republican

Allen Reinhart, Las Vegas, Democrat

Tom Sawyer, Las Vegas, Independent

Bill Tarbell, Sparks, Republican

G.A. Villa, Las Vegas, Independent

Jarrod Williams, Sparks, Independent

Congressional District 2:

Vance Alm, Reno, Democrat

Mark Amodei, Carson City, Republican (I)

Chip Evans, Reno, Democrat

John Everhart, Carson City, Independent American

Drew Knight, Carson City, Independent

Rick Shepherd, Sparks, Democrat

Congressional district 4:

Morse Arberry, Las Vegas, Democrat

Steve Brown, Las Vegas, Libertarian

Brandon Casutt, Las Vegas, Democrat

Lucy Flores, North Las Vegas, Democrat

Cresent Hardy, Mesquite, Republican (I)

Ruben Kihuen, Las Vegas, Democrat

Susie Lee, North Las Vegas, Democrat

Mike Little, Las Vegas, Independent American

Mike Monroe, Las Vegas, Republican

Dan Rolle, Las Vegas, Democrat

Mike Schaefer, Las Vegas, Democrat

Rodney Smith, North Las Vegas, Democrat

Wayne Villines, Republican

State Senate District 19:

Pete Goicoechea, Eureka, Republican (I)

Janine Hansen, Elko, Independent American

State Assembly District 32:

Ira Hansen, Sparks, Republican (I)

State Assembly District 33:

John Ellison, Republican (I)

State Assembly District 36:

James Oscarson, Republican, Pahrump (I)

Dennis Hof, Libertarian, Crystal,

Rusty Stansberry, Las Vegas, Republican

Tina Trenner, Las Vegas, Republican

State Assembly District 38:

Wendy Cochran, Silver Springs, Independent

George Dini, Yerington, Democrat

Justin Smith, Fallon, Independent American

Robin Titus, Wellington, Republican (I)

State Assembly District 39:

Alexander Dunn, Carson City, Independent

Jim Wheeler, Minden, Republican (I)

State Assembly District 40:

Chris Forbush, Carson City, Republican

Michael Greedy, Carson City, Democrat

Sam England, Reno, Republican

Al Kramer, Carson City, Republican

P.K. O’Neill, Carson City, Republican (I)

John Wagner, Carson City, Independent American

Board of Regents District 8:

Cathy McAdoo, Elko

Board if Regents District 9 (Two year term only):

Carol Del Carlo, Incline Village

Sara Lafrance, Incline Village

Board of Regents District 11:

Jason Geddes, Reno (I)

Board of Education District 2:

David Carter, Carson City

Pat Hickey, Reno

Board of Education District 4:

Len Marciano, North Las Vegas

Mark Newburn, Las Vegas

Carson City Races


Gayle Robertson (I)


Jerry Cinani

Bob Crowell (I)

Kurt Meyer

Supervisor Ward 2:

Brad Bonkowski (I)

Maurice White

Supervisor Ward 4:

John Barrette

Jim Shirk (I)

School board District 2:

Laurel Crossman (I)

School board district 5:

Steve Reynolds (I)

Michael Walker

Schoool Board District 7:

Joe Cacioppo (I)

Washoe County Races

Senate District 13:

Kent Bailey, Republican

Samantha Brockeslby, Republican

Brandon Jacobs, Libertarian

Julia Ratti, Democrat

Senate District 15:

David Colborne, Libertarian

Heidi Gansert, Republican

Eugene Hoover, Republican

Devon Reese, Democrat

Assembly District 24:

Amber Joiner, Democrat (I)

Jim Riger Sr. Republican

Assembly District 25:

Clint Jamison, Republican

Kime King, Republican

Allen Smith, Dmeocrat

Jennifer Terhune, Republican

Jill Tolles, Republican

Assembly District 26:

Lisa Krasner, Republican

Jason Guinasso, Republican

Assembly District 27:

Teresa Benitez-Thompson (I)

Bonnie Weber, Reno, Reno, Republican

Assembly District 30:

Lauren Scott, Republican

Michael Sprinkle (I)

Assembly District 31:

Skip Daly, Democrat

Jill Dickman, Republican (I)

Clark County Congressional Races

Congressional District 1:

Kamau Bakari, Independent American

Louis Baker, Republican

Patrick Boylan, Democrat

Stephanie Carlisle, Republican

Freddy Horne, Republican

Gary Johnson, Republican

Jeffrey Miller, Republican

Mary Perry, Republican

Jose Solario, Democrat

Dina Titus, Democrat (I)

Congressional District 3:

Kerry Bowers, Republican

Michele Fiore, Republican

David Goosen, Independent

Sami Khal, Republican

Warren Markowitz, Independent American

Andrew Matthews, Republican

Barry Michaels, Democrat

Michael Roberson, Republican

Jacklyn Rosen, Democrat

Jesse Sbaih, Democrat

Steven Schiffman, Democrat

Alex Singer, Democrat

Danny Tarkanian, Republican

Annette Teijeiro, Republican

Neil Waite, Democrat

At the 11th hour, three people joined Bob Crowell in the Carson City mayor’s race, forcing the only primary in the capital’s local election contests.

Mayor Bob Crowell is seeking his third term in the office.

He will face Jerry Cinani, a counselor with Sierra Counseling and Neuropathy, Chris Carver of Carson City Politics and former parks and recreation official Kurt Meyer.

“The city is on the cusp of doing some great things and I’d like to see it finish out,” Crowell said. “This is for Carson City. The mayor’s job is not about me, it’s about the city.”

Cinani said he filed in part because he doesn’t think the mayor’s race should be uncontested. He also said he would make different decisions than the existing board has made in several areas, although he declined to give details at this point.

Meyer was a recreation supervisor for the city’s parks and recreation department for 25 years before retiring.

Meyer said he too believes there should be a choice for mayor and believes he can “bring a fresh new look on some of the issues here in Carson City.”

“I’m excited for the possibility to contribute,” he said.

Carver said he initially filed because he didn’t believe Crowell should run unopposed. All three of his opponents filed Friday saying the same thing.

But Carver also said he wants to “streamline government and focus our spending on essential services.” He said the city has an obligation to take care of infrastructure which he said the supervisors aren’t doing.

While both supervisors’ races and one school board seat are contested in Carson City, each has just two candidates so they automatically advance to the November General Election.

Statewide, Sharron Angle, who lost in her bid to unseat outgoing U.S. Senator Harry Reid in 2010, has again filed for Reid’s senate seat.