Info on 2005 California license costs/locations
December 23, 2004
By Don Quilici
Anglers who fish in the State of California are reminded that Dec. 31 is the last day for its 2004 sport fishing license year. Beginning Jan. 1, anyone fishing in the “Golden State” will be required to have the new 2005 fishing license.
The 2005 Non-Resident, annual California fishing license cost is $89.50 per person.
A 10-day fishing license (resident or Non-Resident) will cost you $33.35.
A two-day fishing license will cost $16.80.
A one-day fishing license will be $10. 75.
Recommended Stories For You
A second rod stamp is $10.25 and enables the angler to fish with two fishing poles on ponds, lakes and reservoirs. The second rod stamp is not legal on streams and rivers.
California licenses and stamps are available in this general area at license outlets such as:
Carson: Long’s and Wal-Mart.
Douglas County: Raley’s and Scolari’s in Gardnerville.
Douglas County: The Angler’s Edge in Gardnerville.
Douglas County: The Sierra Pines Country Store at 2621 Kayne Ave. in Minden.
Douglas County: Avid Fisherman at Glenbrook, Lake Tahoe.
Douglas County: O’Malley’s Fishing Charter at Zephyr Cove, Lake Tahoe.
Douglas County: The Topaz Lodge at Topaz Lake.
Washoe County: Village Ace Hardware at Incline Village.
In addition, Calif. Non-Resident licenses are also available at other nearby locations such as the Woodfords General Store in Woodfords, Calif.
Special Note No. 1: Fishermen are advised that anyone fishing in California must wear their fishing license where it is visible above the waist. If you don’t, you are subject to being cited and fined.
Special Note No. 2: The Nevada fishing license period is on a totally different type of year. The current 2004-2005 Nevada fishing license is good through Feb. 28.
For information, call the California Dept. of Fish and Game, License and Revenue Branch in Sacramento at (916) 227-2245 during normal business hours or you can go to their website at http://www.dfg.ca.gov.