Labor commissioner says Nevada minimum wage will remain same
The Nevada Labor Commissioner’s office says it’s finished its annual review of the state’s minimum wage and will keep it the same for the year starting July 1.
State officials announced Tuesday that the rate will remain $7.25 an hour for employees who receive health insurance from their employer, and $8.25 for those who don’t.
The labor commissioner is also keeping a rule that employees who are paid at or just above the minimum wage must be paid overtime when they work more than eight hours in a 24-hour period.
The Nevada Constitution requires the commissioner to recalculate minimum wage rates annually based on increases in the federal minimum wage.
A bill moving through the Legislature, SB193, would raise Nevada’s minimum wage to $9 and repeal the eight-hour overtime rule.