CCHS inducts 34 students into National Honor Society |

CCHS inducts 34 students into National Honor Society

Christine Kuklica

The Churchill County High School recently inducted 34 new members into National Honor Society.

Adviser Glen Perazzo said he is very proud of the students who were inducted into honor society this year. He said this is an honorary organization that recognizes students for excelling in the pillars society stands.

“The students have to meet a high requirement in four different areas,” Perazzo said, “scholastics, service, leadership and character. Each student is evaluated on those four areas to see if they have what is required to join the Honor Society.”

Perazzo said for students to be considered they first have to obtain a 3.8 grade point average or higher. He said juniors receive a packet half way through their junior year and share their high school service and leadership work with the committee. He said the committee evaluates the students’ GPA, service, leadership and character to determine if they should be invited into the society. He said seniors are evaluated in the fall based on their grades.

Perazzo said the selection committee consists of five high school staff members who are selected by Principal Kevin Lords.

“The committee is kept anonymous so the students don’t have the opportunity to try and persuade the teachers.”

Perazzo said the students are required to maintain the high standards they were chosen for. He said students are required to serve, maintain good leadership skill and a good character and keep their GPA up.

“The students are required to provide 15 service hours per semester,” Perazzo said. “They are required to perform five hours within the Honor Society, five hours outside in the community or other organizations, and five hours in either of the two just mentioned.”

Perazzo said the students earn these hours by volunteering at blood drives, participating with Dancing with the Stars, assisting with the senior citizen prom, raking leaves, collecting food cans, organizing dodge ball tournaments, etc.

He said students are required to attend Honor Society meetings as well.

“We have a top notch group of kids,” Perazzo said. “It’s a pleasure to work with them. These students are the cream of the crop and it’s so great to work with … it really is.”

The new students include the following: The class of 2015 — Elisabeth Herzog, McKenzie Lunger, Evan Matheson, Blane Merkley, Justin Olson, Shelby Autumn Smith, Christian Stadtman, Jumel Villacarlos and Bridger M. Young. Class of 2016 — Alicia Baze, Sierra Bivens, Danielle Brown, Danny Chen, Sean Cordes, Taylen Cordes, Kailey Davis, Yaowei Deng, Marco Guerrero, Andrew Robert John Hagemann, Addyson Harmon, Kyle Larsen, Abigail Lunderstadt, Megan McCormick, Rebecca Mills, Macy Myers, Carissa Parsons, Madison Perazzo, Connor Richardson, Jordyn Rogers, Adia Sommer, Eric Michael Sorensen, Cheyenne Sweeney, Michelle Therianos and Tristen Thomson.