CCHS students bring home Good Sportsmanship Award |

CCHS students bring home Good Sportsmanship Award

Special to the LVN
The Churchill County High School scien team wrecently was homnored at the sate science bowl in Las Vegas. (Captain)JP Grimes, (coach) Karl Marsh, Monica Mills, (TV personality) Nathan Tannenbaum, Hannah Perazzo, Joseph Jamieson, and Christian Stadtman.

The Nevada Science Bowl is the premier academic competition for Nevada and the Southwest region.

Thirty-two schools including Churchill County High School recently participated in a knowledge based competition in Las Vegas. Topics included biological and physical sciences, math, and energy. It is hosted each year by the Nevada Department of Energy with sponsors from all over the state.

Located at KLAS TV’s site in Las Vegas, the Greenwave competed in this year’s competition for the 10th straight year. All 32 teams were placed in a four-team round-robin pool named after each of the planets in the solar system. CCHS went up against Centennial and Clark high schools, both from Las Vegas, and Alpine Academy from Sparks.

After competing in the round-robin start, the CCHS team found themselves eliminated from the competition losing by less than six points at the end of each match.

“Centennial beat us by two points on the last question just before the buzzer, it was so close and exciting,” said team member Christian Stadtman.

Three of the five team members this year plan on returning with their experience to next year’s competition.

The team also garnered special congratulations from the Nevada Science Bowl. At lunch the CCHS Team won the coveted Good Sportsmanship Award.

“They (the CCHS team) showed outstanding courtesy and respect to everyone at the 2014 Nevada Science Bowl,” wrote one of the spokesman.

Katherine Zander, a moderator for one of the rounds with the Greenwave, said the award was well deserved.

“Well-deserved, I really loved having them in my room,” she said.

This is the second time in four years that the CCHS team under coach Karl Marsh has won this award.