Challenge accepted |

Challenge accepted

Steve Puterski
Racing returns to Rattlesnake Raceway on Saturday for the Hobby Stock Challenge and Northern Nevada Outlaw Karts series. Racing starts at 6 p.m.
LVN File Photo | LVN

The season is in full swing and the high-speed action returns to Rattlesnake Raceway on Saturday with the second Hobby Stock Challenge and Northern Nevada Outlaw Karts series.

Gates open at 6 p.m. and admission is $10 for adults, $8 for military with ID, $5 for seniors and children 6-13 and children under 5 are free.

The Hobby Stock Challenge features a purse of $100 per car finishing the main event, although drives can be penalized $50 for causing a caution (yellow) flag. The winner receives an addition $100 prize.

According to Rattlesnake’s website, the goal is to create “minimum yellow flag” racing with minimal car damage.”

Through four races, Dave Ausano has built an 11-point lead over Chris Christiano and Shane Cazel in the Hobby Stock division. Ausano, who has 147 points, has a pair of wins in the preliminary heats and one main-event victory this season.

Christiano, meanwhile, has racked up 136 points and one main-event win, while Cazel (136) has had a trio of prelim wins and one main-event victory coming on May 16. However, Cazel suffered a setback with a 14th-place finish on April 18.

Nevertheless, he and Christiano remain close to Ausano, although the duo must be wary of Cody Morris (132), Jeff Tittle (126) and Dennis Buehn (121), who lurk closely behind in fourth, fifth and sixth place, respectively.

As for the Karts, the series returns to the oval on Saturday with three divisions.

Brent Rauscher holds a 16-point lead over Gauge Felzke (116-100) in the beginners class as Rauscher’s last two races have created space between Felzke.

In third is William Jardine at 96 followed by Peyton Albury (87) and Christian Benham (85).

In the box class, Evan Rauscher holds a slim 6-point edge over Robert McBroome (116-110), while Xavier (80) and Tanner Frock (68) round out the foursome in third and fourth place, respectively.

As for the 250’s, Jacob Dias leads Blake Rauscher by one point (110-109) and has won two prelim heats and one main event. Rauscher, meanwhile, has been steady all season with five third-place finishes.

Following Dias and Rauscher are Jayden Hopper (75) in third, Grasen Ternora (74) in fourth and William Evenson (68) in fifth.