Fallon nabs 3 I-A all-state soccer selections | NevadaAppeal.com

Fallon nabs 3 I-A all-state soccer selections

Steve Puterski
Fallon's Maddie Alegre, left, was named first team All-State in Division I-A.
Steve Puterski / sputerski@lahontanvalleynews.com | LVN

Northern Division I-A All-League soccer

Coach of the Year: Jeremy Evans, South Tahoe

Most Valuable Player: Allison King, South Tahoe

First team All-State


Maddie Alegre, Fallon; Jordyn Dion, South Tahoe; Allison King, South Tahoe; Brittney Gonzalez, Fernley; Maria Sanchez, Fernley. Players from the south were not provided.

Second team

Erin Nelson, Fallon; Monique Rodriguez, Lowry; Cassidy Jackson, South Tahoe; Emma Warren, Truckee; Kaylee Neill, Truckee; Kaitlyn Smith, Elko.

First team

Forwards: Alegre, Fallon, sr.; Jordyn Dion, South Tahoe, jr.; Monique Rodriguez, Lowry, jr.

Halfbacks: Cassidy Jackson, South Tahoe, sr.; Emma Warren, Truckee, Jr.; Brittney Gonzalez, Elko, sr.; Maria Sanchez, Fernley, sr.

Fullbacks: Kaitlyn Smith, Elko, sr.; Allison King, South Tahoe, jr.; Maison Power, Truckee, sr.

Goalkeeper: Nelson, Fallon, sr.

Utility: Kaylee Neill, Truckee, sr.

Second team

Forwards: Rebecca Mills, Fallon, soph.; Haley Isaman, Spring Creek, jr.; Marcelle Reynaud, Truckee, jr.

Halfbacks: Monica Mills, Fallon, sr.; Jordin Warner, Fallon, jr.; Shawntel Anderson, Spring Creek, sr.; Jennifer Burks, South Tahoe, sr.

Fullbacks: Jensen Smith, South Tahoe, jr.; Sarah Svoboda, Truckee, jr.; Caitlynn Cooper, Lowry, soph.

Goalkeeper: Senifa Po’oi, Sparks, fr.

Utility: Brook Pawelek, Elko, jr.

Honorable mention

Forwards: Megan Warner, Fallon, jr.; Enedina Cardenas, Sparks, sr.; Brittney Hubberts, South Tahoe, sr.

Halfbacks: Alison Walker, Lowry, jr.; Kylie Harget, Fernley, sr.; Perla Landa, Dayton, sr.; Riley Chapman, South Tahoe, jr.

Fullbacks: Mirade Coley, Elko, soph.; Shannon Cardoza, Truckee, jr.; Iridiana Gonzalez, Lowry, jr.

Goalkeeper: Paulina Thrasher, Truckee, sr.

Utility: Quinn Parker, Truckee, sr.; Jasmin Glere, Spring Creek, jr.; Hailee Simpson, Elko, jr.; Emily Jones, Spring Creek, sr.

Northern Division I-A All-League boys soccer

Coach of the Year: Frank Avilla, Sparks

Most Valuable Player: Ruben Pacheco, Sparks

First team All-State


Ruben Pacheco, Sparks; Juan Hernandez, Sparks; Tom Arnstein, Truckee; Lucio Espita, Sparks; Tom Arnstein, Truckee; Max Barta, Truckee; Gabby Serna, Truckee.

Second team

Corbin Waite, Fallon; Carlos Aguilar, Lowry; Rolando Zarate, Truckee; Brendan Shelly, Elko; Juan Mendoza, Sparks; Derek Caro, South Tahoe.

First team

Forwards: Ruben Pacheco, Sparks, sr.; Carlos Aguilar, Lowry, sr.; Rolando Zarate, Truckee, sr.

Halfbacks: Corbin Waite, Fallon, jr.; Thomas Arnstein, Truckee, jr.; Juan Hernandez, Sparks, sr.; Brendan Shelly, Elko, sr.

Fullbacks: Max Barta, Truckee, sr.; Lucio Espita, Sparks, jr.; Juan Mendoza, Sparks, jr.

Goalkeeper: Gabby Serna, Truckee, soph.

Utility: Derek Caro, South Tahoe

Second team

Forwards: Edwin Navarro, Sparks, sr.; Garret Powell, Spring Creek, sr.; Manuel Sarabia, Truckee, Fresh.

Halfbacks: David Martinez, Truckee, jr.; Jesus Partida, Sparks, fresh.; Kevin Blanco, Lowry, jr.; Evan Morris, Spring Creek, jr.

Fullbacks: Armando Diaz, Truckee, sr.; Luis Guisendore, Sparks, jr.; Star ‘Ita, Spring Creek, sr.

Goalkeeper: Kyle Hannah, South Tahoe, sr.

Utility: Jordan Fereira, Truckee, jr.

Honorable mention

Forwards: Fidel Enriquez, Fallon, jr.; Jamie Avilla, Dayton, soph.; Austin Williams, South Tahoe

Halfbacks: Miguel Carrero, Fallon; Chris Mendoza, Lowry, sr.; Jason Woodland, Spring Creek, jr

Leo Villa, Truckee, jr.; Jesus Martinez, South Tahoe

Fullbacks: Robby Davis, Fallon, sr.; Josh Moulton, Fallon, soph.; Dylan Jones, Fallon, Alex Roark, Lowry, sr.; Cesar Arroyo, Sparks, jr.

Goalkeeper: Jeff Brooks, Dayton, sr.

Utility: Victor Hernandez, Elko, sr.

As a result of strong season, the Fallon soccer teams nabbed a pair of Division I-A All-State selections.

Forward Maddie Alegre was tabbed to the girls first team, while goalkeeper Erin Nelson and boys standout Corbin Waite earned second team honors.

In addition to Alegre, the Lady Wave tallied three second-team and one honorable mention All-North selections. Monica and Rebecca Mills and Jordin Warner were each second team, while Megan Warner was named honorable mention.

The girls led the Lady Wave to a third-place finish in the Northern DI-A, but lost 3-0 to Truckee in the first round of the playoffs.

As for the boys, Waite was named to the All-North first team, and teammates Robby Davis, Fidel Enriquez, Miguel Carrero, Josh Moulton and Dylan Jones were honorable mention.

The boys, meanwhile, finished fifth and missed the postseason for the first time in three years.

South Tahoe coach Jeremy Evans, whose club won the DI-A state title, was named Coach of the Year and Allison King of South Tahoe was tabbed Most Valuable Player.

As for the boys, Sparks coach Frank Avilla was named COY, while Ruben Pacheco was MVP.