Fallon nabs 8 All-State football selections | NevadaAppeal.com

Fallon nabs 8 All-State football selections

Steve Puterski

Division I-A All-State Honors

Most Valuable Player: Calvin Connors, Lowry

Offensive Player of the Year: Morgan Dirickson, Churchill County

Defensive Player of the Year: Justin Hughes, Moapa Valley

Lineman of the Year: Mat McDermand, Moapa Valley

Coach of the Year: Vernon Fox, Faith Lutheran

First Team Offense

QB: Garrett Leavitt, Virgin Valley.

RB: Ty Flanagan, Mojave; Jared Repp, Moapa Valley; Dee Bowler, Virgin Valley; Austin Fletcher, Dayton.

WR: Tyler Bagby, Fallon; Vinny DeGeorge, Faith Lutheran; Tim Hough, Desert Pines; DeVonte Milligan, Virgin Valley.

TE: Robert Stepper, Lowry.

OL: Austin Prather, Faith Lutheran; Beau Leavitt, Virgin Valley; John Molchon, Faith Lutheran; Damien Nusser, Elko; Luis Cardenas, Lowry; Angel Lievanos, Elko.

KR: Cameron Matzen, Fallon.

K: Trent Dolby, Faith Lutheran.

First Team Defense

LB: Dakota Schelling, Fallon; Trent Tarner, Fallon; Brandon Okuma, Lowry; Ben Flandermeyer, Faith Lutheran; Danny Otuwa, Faith Lutheran.

DL: Justin Hatfield, Fallon; Sam Rebman, Moapa Valley; Jacob Roumanos, Spring Creek; Adam Bullock, Elko.

CB: Hough, Desert Pines; Tanner Lecumberry, Lowry.

S: Tyler Mahan, Faith Lutheran; Thor Retzlaff, Truckee.

P: Foa Sofara, Wooster.

Second Team Offense

QB: Iquan Corsey, Desert Pines; Skyler Williams, Fernley.

RB: Eric Wilkes, Desert Pines, Milan Dixon, Clark; David Jackson, Elko; Sofara, Wooster.

WR: Alex Anguiano, Wooster; Kevin Montgomery, Fernley.

TE: Tyler Zobrist, Moapa Valley.

OL: Brennan Lewis, Fallon; Jesse Samaniego, Clark; Rebman, Moapa Valley; Jacob Roumanos, Spring Creek; Anthony Cooney, Fernley.

KR: Malik Davis, Desert Pines.

K: Louden Smith, Truckee.


LB: Fletcher, Dayton; Jordan Walthers, Elko; Eric Wilson, Fernley; Dillon Prach, Boulder City; Repp, Moapa Valley.

DL: Matt Ourada, Lowry; Hayden Solis, Faith Lutheran; Brooks Roe, Boulder City; Harold Caswell, Virgin Valley.

CB: Nathan Heck, Fallon; Jeremy Waite, Moapa Valley.

S: Corsey, Desert Pines; Anfernee Sloan, Fernley.

P: Qwayjon Walker, Western.

With success comes the spoils.

For the Fallon football team, it means all-state accolades. Eight Greenwave standouts received recognition by the Division I-A coaches for their on-field performance.

Quarterback Morgan Dirickson was named the division’s Offensive Player of the Year, while wide receiver Tyler Bagby, kick returner Cameron Matzen, linebackers Dakota Schelling and Trent Tarner and defensive lineman Justin Hatfield earned first-team all-state honors. On the second team were offensive lineman Brennan Lewis and cornerback Nathan Heck.

The eight all-state selections lifted Fallon to a 10-2 record and its first state championship game in 35 years losing 17-0 to Faith Lutheran.

Dirickson was also named the Northern Division I-A Offensive Player of the Year, while Schelling was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year.

Dirickson completed 95 of 192 passes for 2,244 yards (postseason included) with 32 touchdowns and eight interceptions. He had a career day against Elko in which he threw for 440 yards and seven TDs.

Schelling anchored one of the best defenses in the state and tallied 99 total tackles (nine for a loss), had seven sacks and two interceptions with one returned for a TD.

Bagby had a breakout season with 30 receptions for 875 yards and nine TDs. He recorded 33 tackles and was second on the team with five interceptions.

Matzen, meanwhile, made a name for himself with four TDs in the Wave’s first game of the season against Wooster. He returned seven punts for TDs and averaged 27.7 yards per punt return. He also had six kickoff returns for 152 yards.

Tarner tallied 29 tackles, had two interceptions and four fumble recoveries, while Hatfield led the defense with nine sacks and 70 tackles.

Heck, meanwhile, had 58 tackles, a team-high 13 passes defended, two interceptions and two fumble recoveries.

Lewis was the leader on the offensive line as his hard-nosed play opened holes for Tarner and protected Dirickson.

Lowry quarterback Calvin Connors was named the division’s Most Valuable Player, Vernon Fox of Faith Lutheran was Coach of the Year and Moapa Valley’s Justin Hughes and Mat McDermand were tabbed defensive and lineman of the year, respectively. McDermand recently gave a verbal commitment to play at the University of Nevada.