New county officials sworn in |

New county officials sworn in

Christine Kuklica
Tasha Hessey, right, gives Churchill County Clerk/Treasurer Kelly Helton a hug after being sworn in as recorder at the Churchill County Commission meeting on Monday.


Check out our gallery of photos from Monday’s swearing-in ceremony on the Lahontan Valley News Facebook page.

Newly elected Churchill County officials were sworn in Monday at the Churchill County Commissioners’ first meeting of 2015.

County clerk/treasurer Kelly Helton swore in the elected officials, while Deputy Clerk Linda Rothery swore in Helton for her third term. Helton, who has worked for the county for 30 years, made her first appearance in more than four months after starting chemotherapy for breast cancer.

“It was wonderful to make a public appearance,” Helton said. “I am truly grateful for all of the love and support from my family, coworkers, friends and the community. It felt like home being back swearing in the officials on Monday … I cannot wait to get back to work after my surgery.”

Churchill County Commissioner Pete Olsen said the county has great individuals working for it.

“I don’t know if you folks in the audience or the ones who just took the oath know what a special moment that is,” Olsen said. “The first time I took it four years ago and the moment I did it today … it is a special time in your life where you get to swear allegiance to your country and your people.”

The following elected official’s were also sworn in:

Thomas L. Stockard, Tenth Judicial District Court judge; Pete Olsen, commissioner, District 2; Benjamin Trotter, sheriff; Denise L. Mondhink, assessor; Tasha Hessey, recorder; Bob Getto Jr., public administrator; Richard Gent, Matt Hyde and Carmen Schank, school board trustees; Christiane Lattin, Ron Rudden and Michael Spencer, Mosquito, Vector Control and Weed Abatement; Elbert Mills and Neil Olsen, Lahontan Conservation District; Lyle de Braga, Ronnie Lawrence and Kathy Mort, Stillwater Conservation District.

The following individuals have had or will have their oath administered separately in the clerk/treasurer’s office:

Arthur Mallory, district attorney; Colby Frey, Lahontan Conservation District; Clay Hendrix, school board trustee and Jay Lingenfelter, Mosquito, Vector Control and Weed Abatement.

The commissioners also said farewell to Recorder Joan Sims, Assessor Norma Green and Chief Deputy Assessor Laurie Mookini: who all retired after working for the county.

County Manager Eleanor Lockwood said the three women would be missed greatly. She said their years of dedication and service to the community has shown through their hard work.

Other items the commissioners approved or discussed include the following:

Tabled an application for a zoning map amendment for JoAnn Davig Caras until the Jan. 21 meeting for a property located at 500 Roberson Lane.

Approved report of Churchill Economic Development Authority; support for the Community Development Block Grant; $2,500 for CEDA’s attendance at the Tulare Ag show; support for CEDA’s membership with the World Economic Development Alliance and $6,436 for CEDA’s employee health care per person.

Approved the pre-application and authorize the chair to sign and submit the pre-application to the State Revolving Loan Fund program.

Approved amendment No. 1 to the contract between Division of Welfare and Supportive Services and Churchill County District Attorney, Child Support Division effective July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017.

Approved Anthony Enos as the highest bidder for the Wild Goose Ranch for $196,911 annually.