Rain doesn’t slow Rattlesnake | NevadaAppeal.com

Rain doesn’t slow Rattlesnake

Steve Puterski
The Hobby Stock had 17 cars competing in three heats Sunday afternoon.

Although racing was delayed until Sunday due to rain, the action at Rattlesnake Raceway heated up on Sunday.

Drivers in the Hobby Stock and IMCA classifications engaged in spirited action as the chase for the points title enters the home stretch.

Dan Diaz captured his first checkered flag in the Hobby Stock class along with a premilinary victory in the second heat.

Diaz edged out Scott Tenney, Dave Ausano, Cody Morris and Chris Christiano for the win, although Morris holds a slim lead over Ausano and Christiano for the points lead.

Morris, who does not have a win in the main event this season, has been consistent all year with three second-place finishes. He has 313 points, while Ausano trails by one, Christiano by two and Shane Cazel is within striking distance with 301.

Cazel, though, struggled on Sunday as he placed 11th but has kept in the hunt with two wins and a third-place finish this season.

Ausano, meanwhile, has notched one win and a trio of third-place marks to pull within one point of Morris. Christiano has countered with a win, two second-place and a third-place finish to keep pace with the other three drivers.

On Sunday, Dan Edgington nipped Christiano in the first preliminary heat with Dennis Buehn taking third. Diaz edged out Cazel, Jason Irwin and Tenney in the second heat, while Ausano beat Morris and Sid Tenney in the third heat.

As for the IMCA class, Robert Miller took the win getting past Zach Cali, Malen Gonzalez and Shawn Natenstedt in the main event.

Gonzalez, though, holds a 312-301 lead over Cali in the points race. Gonzalez and Cali have distanced themselves in the points chase as Fred White sits in third (232), Chris Neal in fourth (224) and Wade Lumsden in fifth (202).

Despite no wins, Gonzalez has been a force all season with four second-place and a pair of third-place finishes. Cali, meanwhile, has two second-place and a third-place finish under his belt.

On Sunday, however, Robert Mull was able to get past Gonzalez for the win in the first preliminary heat followed by Steve McKellip, David Johnson and Lumsden.

In the second heat, Fred White took the win followed by Shawn Natenstedt and Mark Skender.

Miller, meanwhile, raced past Cali, Royce Goetz and Jesse Gonzalez for the win.

Action at Rattlesnake resumes July 25 with a points race, the Northern Nevada Outlaw Karts and children’s rides. The season concludes with points races on Aug. 8 and 22 and Sept. 12.

The Dirt Track Championships will run Sept. 26-27.