Trotter decides not to seek re-election |

Trotter decides not to seek re-election

Steve Ranson
LVN Editor Emeritus
Sheriff Ben Trotter, right, received a plaque honoring him for his work on the new law enforcement center from Commissioner Pete Olsen. Trotter has announced he will not seek a third term as sheriff but will file, instead, to run for justice of the peace.
Steve Ranson / LVN |

Sheriff Ben Trotter has announced he will not run for a third term as the county’s top lawman.

Trotter is making his announcement simultaneously to both the community and his staff.

“I am truly thankful and humbled to have had the opportunity to serve as your sheriff for eight years,” Trotter said in a statement. “I believe we have moved your sheriff’s office forward and set a very positive foundation for the future of this 153-year-old foundation.”

The former Fallon police officer first ran in 2010 and defeated incumbent Rich Ingram in the general election, and defeated Jay Horsely in 2014. Trotter said he will be submitting his paperwork for the New Township Justice of the Peace on Jan. 2, the first day of filing for judicial offices. The position is currently held by Mike Richards.

Trotter said he will be filing for justice of the peace for similar reasons when he first ran for sheriff almost eight years ago. Trotter said he would seek out ways to make procedures work better and implement the changes to make it happen.

He also remains optimistic about the future of the sheriff’s office.

“We have some young, motivated and quality staff that bode well for the future service your sheriff’s office will provide,” he said.

Additionally, Trotter told the LVN it’s been an honor to serve as sheriff. He also said the Churchill County Sheriff’s Office (CCSO) works well with the county’s residents, other county agencies and the media. He also said his relationship with County Manager Eleonore Lockwood, Comptroller Alan Kalt and Commissioners Carl Erquiaga, Pete Olsen and Bus Scharmann have been good.

During his tenure, Trotter touted the department’s good working relationship with the Lyon County Sheriff’s Office. He said the LCSO assisted Churchill County with setting up a SWAT team. Now, Trotter said the county’s SWAT team has 10 members, five each from the FPD and CCSO. The SWAT team participates in drills conducted with Navy assets at Naval Air Station Fallon.

“This has been an honor to do this job,” he said of his tenure with CCSO.

According to Trotter, he holds an associated degree in general studies and another in criminal justice, a bachelor’s degree in finance and a master’s in business administration (MBA), both from Governor’s College. He previously worked for the FPD for 15 years before being elected sheriff. During his years at the FPD, Trotter was a detective, field training officer and sergeant. He is also involved with numerous service organizations and his church.

After he was elected in 2010, Trotter said guiding the sheriff’s office through the great recession was challenging by trying to stay within the budget and not laying off staff. Through both terms, Trotter said he has been extremely proud of his staff and the professionalism in how they conduct their duties.

Trotter said the completion of the new law enforcement center, which recently had its ribbon cutting, is a promise come true. During 2018, Trotter said he has the entire year to set up policies and procedures for the new facility.

Filings dates for judicial offices is Jan. 2-12 and all others March 5-16. Up for statewide election are U.S. Senator, governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, state treasurer, state controller, attorney general and the Nevada Supreme Court justices. District offices include representative for District 2 of U.S. Congress, State Senate District 17, Assembly District 38 and Board of Regents. Filing for these offices is with the Nevada Secretary of State office.

Churchill County offices are one county commissioner, assessor, clerk/treasurer, district attorney, public administrator, recorder four members for the Board of School trustees, sheriff and three members of the Mosquito, Vector and Noxious Weed Abatement Board. Filing for these offices is with the Churchill County Clerk/Treasurer office.