Wave baseball nabs 3 all-state honors | NevadaAppeal.com

Wave baseball nabs 3 all-state honors

Steve Puterski
Fallon catcher Tyler Bagby was named first-team all state and the Northern Division I-A's Most Valuable Player last week.
Steve Puterski / sputerski@lahontanvalleynews.com | LVN

Division I-A honors


First-team all state (North only)

Tyler Bagby, Fallon; Dominic Diana, South Tahoe; Lane Newman, Spring Creek; Zack Zeiler, Spring Creek; Jacob Conklin, Elko; Derek Ridgway, Elko.

Second team

Dalton Frank, Fallon; Cody Long, Fallon; Jack Phillips, Dayton; Chad Schumacher, Elko; Calvin Connors, Lowry; Kolby Eymann, South Tahoe; Kevin Montgomery, Fernley.

First-team league

Bagby, MVP; the rest same as first- and second-team all state.

Second team

Joe Pyle, Fallon; Tristen Salazar, Fallon; Zephan Zeiler, Spring Creek; Gavin Henderson, Fernley; Cole Hummel, Dayton; Brandon Okuma, Lowry; Austin Garruck, Sparks; Michael Smith, Spring Creek; Dakota Lynch, South Tahoe; Tanner Lecumberry, Lowry; Kyle Whitted, Elko; Riley Guiragossian, Truckee.

Honorable Mention

Mo Coverston, Fallon; Branden Beeghly, Fallon; Erik Wilson, Fernley; Kyle Bryce, Fernley; Carlos McIntyre, Fernley; Anfernee Sloan, Fernley.

The Fallon baseball team nabbed a trio of Division I-A all-state selections last week.

Tyler Bagby, Dalton Frank and Cody Long lead the contingent of postseason awards for the Greenwave.

Bagby, a catcher, was named to the division’s first state and also gathered the Northern DI-A’s Most Valuable Player award. Frank (outfield) and Long (infield), meanwhile, each were selected to the state’s second team in addition to earning first-team all league honors.

Joe Pyle (infield) and Tristen Salazar (pitcher) each were named to the second-team all league, while Mo Coverston and Branden Beeghly were honorable mention.

Fallon’s seven representatives led the Wave to a state runner-up finish in May. Fallon lost to Faith Lutheran, 9-2, in the DI-A championship game.

The Wave, though, finished second in the Northern DI-A and swept through the regional tournament en route to their first regional title under the new format.

For Fernley, pitcher Kevin Montgomery also earned second-team all state honors plus first-team all league status.

Gavin Henderson was named to second-team all league for the Vaqueros, while Erik Wilson, Kyle Bryce, Carlos McIntyre and Anfernee Sloan each were honorable mention.

In a show of respect, the Northern DI-A coaches voted Truckee’s Mike Ellis as Coach of the Year. Ellis died April 5 due to a heart condition. He was 46.