13 minor party candidates qualify for NV ballot | NevadaAppeal.com

13 minor party candidates qualify for NV ballot

CARSON CITY, Nev. (AP) – The secretary of state’s office says 13 minor party or nonpartisan candidates have qualified to appear on this year’s election ballot in Nevada.

All must still file declarations of candidacy during the March 1-12 filing period.

Five candidates gathered the required number of signatures to join the U.S. Senate race. Jon Ashjian qualified as a Tea Party candidate, and four others, Wil Stand, Jeffrey Reeves, Jessie Holland and Michael Haines qualified as non-partisans.

Two non-partisans, Gino DeSimone and Aaron Honig, qualified for the governor’s race, as did Green Party candidate David Curtis.

Barry Michaels is a non-partisan candidate for Nevada’s 3rd Congressional District.

Four others qualified for various county races.