4 candidates on Nevada special election ballot | NevadaAppeal.com

4 candidates on Nevada special election ballot

(AP) – The field of candidates for Nevada’s special election shriveled to four Wednesday after a Supreme Court ruling bumped 22 candidates from the ballot and the state’s top election official disqualified four others.

Candidates who will appear on the Sept. 13 ballot for Nevada’s vacant U.S. House seat include Republican Mark Amodei, a former state senator; Democrat Kate Marshall, currently state treasurer; Independent American Party candidate Tim Fasano of Fernley; and independent candidate Helmuth Lehmann of Reno.

The state Supreme Court on Tuesday said major political parties can pick their candidate. The ruling took 14 Republicans and eight Democrats off the ballot.

Election officials say three independent candidates failed to gather required signatures, and a Libertarian candidate didn’t have proper party designation.