Carson 7-Eleven gets 3rd citation for liquor sale to minors | NevadaAppeal.com
YOUR AD HERE »

Carson 7-Eleven gets 3rd citation for liquor sale to minors

F.T. Norton
Nevada Appeal Staff Writer

A Carson City 7-Eleven’s liquor license is on the line after a clerk was cited Friday for selling alcohol to a minor ” the Airport Road store’s third citation in six months.

Carson City Planning Director Walt Sullivan said he will ask the Liquor Board at the Jan. 15 meeting to fine the owner $1,500 and either suspend the store’s liquor license or revoke it, depending on several factors, including how the owner handled the second-offense, $500 citation in November.

This is the first time a Carson City business has been in jeopardy of losing its liquor license since a new city ordinance went into effect less than a year ago that cites not only the clerks who serve minors but the owners of the businesses where the offenses take place.

Carson City Sheriff’s Sgt. Brian Humphrey said 27 businesses were visited Friday night by undercover, underage decoys working for the Sheriff’s Department. The decoys ordered alcohol from the businesses. If they were asked for identification, they turned over their actual licenses showing their true ages.

Clerks at five businesses ” Smiths, 599 E. William St.; Horseshoe Club, 402 N. Carson St.; Carson Nugget, 507 N. Carson St.; Winnie Food and Liquor, 242 E. Winnie St. and the 7-Eleven at Highway 50 East and Airport Road ” were cited for serving alcohol to minors.

In a compliance check in November, 12 of 21 businesses failed the checks.

The citation for the clerk is $632.

Under city code enacted early this year, the business owner is fined $100 for a first offense and $500 for a second offense. On the third offense the business owner is fined $1,500 and will be brought before the liquor board for a review of their license.

In addition to the fines, license holders must require their servers and clerks to attend alcohol compliance training hosted by the Sheriff’s Department.

Sullivan said if a business has its license suspended, the suspension could last for 30 days or more. If a license is revoked, a licensee must wait six months before reapplying.

Humphrey said Friday’s ticket was the second time in six months that a server at the Horseshoe Club has been cited.

Contact reporter F.T. Norton at ftnorton@nevadaappeal.com or 881-1213.