Development district adds Washoe County, Reno, Sparks to the fold |

Development district adds Washoe County, Reno, Sparks to the fold

Nevada Appeal Staff Report

Directors of the Western Nevada Development District board have voted unanimously to incorporate Washoe County, including the cities of Reno and Sparks, into the district’s multicounty region.With the decision, announced Tuesday, the region now includes Carson City, Churchill, Douglas, Humboldt, Lyon, Mineral, Pershing, Storey and Washoe counties. The move by the voluntary association of local government representatives and private-sector appointees is aimed at enhancing regional cooperation, WNDD Executive Director Ron Radil said in welcoming Washoe County and the two cities. “Regional collaboration is necessary regarding economic development, as these issues do not recognize nor stop at county lines,” he said. Board members said the change will help in developing a comprehensive economic development strategy for the region. The WNDD also noted the district is certified by the U.S. Economic Development Administration, and going to nine counties will make the region more competitive in securing funds from that administration.Washoe County Commission Chairman Bob Larkin agreed that combining efforts should help. “We are looking forward to leveraging our efforts by working together across borders and across boundaries to create a successful environment for economic development,” he said. Reno Mayor Robert Cashell voiced similar sentiments, adding: “It’s a win for Northern Nevada and our great state.” Sparks Mayor Geno Martini said strengthening relations with all jurisdictions will help “ensure our ultimate economic prosperity.”