Driver-education courses at WNC
December 12, 2013
Western Nevada College will offer new driver-education courses for teens 15 and older over the winter break and in spring. The cost for the winter break class is $95. After January, the cost will be $100. Each session includes four days of instruction and runs from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
WNC will offer one winter break class in Carson City, Dec. 30 and Jan. 2-4 at Silver State Charter High School.
Three spring courses will meet at WNC on Saturdays in February (there's no class Feb. 16, President's Day weekend); Saturdays from March 15 through April 5; and April 14-17 (Carson High School spring break).
Young drivers will learn safe-driving techniques through lectures, class discussion, guest speakers and films that cover Nevada driving regulations.
State law requires new drivers younger than 18 to take a 30-hour New Driver Education course if one is offered within 30 miles of their home.
The course covers how to handle distractions and peer pressure, and how to prevent falling asleep at the wheel and driving under the influence.
Recommended Stories For You
Speakers include public-safety officials and insurance representatives.
Instruction includes tips on how to drive safely around large trucks and motorcycles and avoid unexpected objects in the road, as well as maneuvering safely through roundabouts and rules for driving in bad weather.
To register for the non-credit class, go townc.edu/drivereducation/. For more information, call 775-445-4458.
Trending In: Local
- Suspect in Ranchos, Washoe homicides in custody
- Washoe County spokesman: Woodside Drive arrest in Carson City related to murders in Washoe County
- Sex under scrutiny: Brothel owner seeks understanding with advocacy nonprofit
- Carson City Aquatic Facility reopening on Tuesday
- Sex under scrutiny: Sex worker Alice Little: ‘Something new is going to happen’