Easter timeline | NevadaAppeal.com

Easter timeline

Palm Sunday – Jesus rides into Jerusalem on a donkey

Monday – Jesus clears the temple

Tuesday – Jesus’ authority challenged in the temple; Jesus teaches with stories and confronts Jewish leaders; Greeks (non-Jews) ask to see Jesus; Jesus teaches on the mount of Olives; Judas agrees to betray Jesus

Wednesday – Bible explains nothing about Wednesday

Thursday – Maundy Thursday/Passover, Jesus shares a last supper (Passover meal in which Jesus instituted the Holy Eucharist or Holy Communion) with His disciples; Jesus speaks to the disciples in the Upper Room; Jesus prays in the garden of Gethsemane; Jesus is betrayed and arrested; Jesus is questioned by the Jewish authorities

Friday – Good Friday, Jesus is formally tried by the Sanhedrin (Jewish government composed of the priests) and Roman Authorities; Jesus is flogged and mocked; the crowd rejects Jesus; Jesus is crucified; Jesus is buried before the Sabbath (Saturday).

Saturday – No events

Easter Sunday – Jesus rises from the dead

Relevant Bible passages

John 10:17-18 – “Therefore doth the Father love me, because I lay down my life, that I may take it again. No one taketh it away from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This commandment received I from my Father.”

Romans 3:23 – “For all have sinned, and fall short of the grace of God.”

On the Net

The Lost Gospel on Nationalgeographic.com