Energy chief names 11 to task force |

Energy chief names 11 to task force

Nevada Appeal Capitol Bureau

Stacey Crowley, director of the state Office of Energy, has named the 11 members of a New Energy Industry Task Force.

Gov. Brian Sandoval assigned the task force to assess Nevada’s potential to develop and market renewable energy resources, not only within the state but regionally.

Crowley has said in the past that the prime target is California, which approved a law requiring the state to get a third of its power from renewable sources by 2020.

Nevada’s mandate is 25 percent by 2025.

She said the group’s first meeting will be held before the end of the year.

“We will present a report to the governor by Aug.1, 2012, that demonstrates the business case for production and transmission of renewable energy, sets forth a direction on Nevada’s role in the regional transmission market and may recommend policy or regulatory changes that support the goals of the task force,” Crowley said.

Members of the task force are Ellen Allman of Terragen, Matt Frazer from Associated General Contractors, Tom Husted of Valley Electric Association, Jack McGinley from NV Energy, Tom Morley from Laborer’s Local 872, Carla Pihowich of Amonix, Ina Rogoff of the Nevada Institute for Renewable Energy Commercialization, Paul Thomsen of Ormat, John Tull from the Nevada Wilderness Project, Lawrence Willick from LS Power and Jim Woodruff of First Solar.